ControlPlane First Flight ✈

xenirio
MycosTech
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2017

Bluetooth headset is my best friend. I intend to buy it for running. Actually after I brought this headset I’ve not started running 😛.

AfterShokz TREKZ Titanium

Today, I paired Bluetooth headset with both of my mobile phone and my MacBook. Usually, I need to switch between mobile phone and the MacBook Bluetooth paring manually. I have to shut down or disconnect the Bluetooth device from the MacBook and then pairing to mobile phone. This is an annoying.

Normally, I close the laptop lid rather than shutting down my MacBook. The problem is Bluetooth connection doesn’t disconnect when the lid closed. So, I can’t switch the Bluetooth headset to pair with my mobile phone. Then I try to find the solution… and found that System Preferences don’t have an option to work with this. After I searching for the tick, I got the App named “ControlPlane”.

ControlPlane is Utility App to help user to operate a little set of instructions based on where you are or what you are doing. Something like when you arrived at study room ControlPlane will switch your MacBook to Silent Mode by turn off the sound volume/turn off the notification automatically. In the same way, ControlPlane will switch to General Mode by turn on the sound volume/turn on the notification when you arrived at home.

ControlPlane Preference

So, I applied ControlPlane with the Bluetooth headset with an action of the laptop lid. I want to mute sound and turn Bluetooth off when I close the lid and I want to unmute sound and turn Bluetooth on when I open the lid.

First step, I need to enabled evidence sources to control/detection status of stuffs.

Evidence Sources Setting

Then, I created context called Lid to work with actions about lid is closing/opening.

  • I created sub context On Close Lid for the condition of the lid is closing/closed.
  • I created sub context On Open Lid for the condition of the lid is opening/opened
ControlPlane Context Setting

Next 2 steps is important step to match the context and the lid action.

Navigate to Rules tab and click on + at the left corner. Select Add 'Laptop Lid Open/Closed State' Rule...

Rules — Add Laptop Lid Open/Closed State

Next step, this is setting of when ‘Laptop lid is’ and set action to match the context as

  • Closed ≫ Run context On Close Lid
  • Opened ≫ Run context On Open Lid
Rules — Match action with context

Then, match the context with the things what you want to do. For me I need to mute the sound and turn Bluetooth off when On Close Lid context running and I need to unmute the sound and turn Bluetooth on when On Open Lid context running. Below images are the settings.

Mute Sound On Arrival of Context ‘On Close Lid’
Unmute Sound On Arrival of Context ‘On Open Lid’
Turn On Bluetooth On Arrival of Context ‘On Open Lid’
Turn Off Bluetooth On Arrival of Context ‘On Close Lid’

Summery of working are :

  • Opening/Opened the lid ≫ Context On Open Lid running ≫ Unmute the sound and turn on Bluetooth.
  • Closing/Closed the lid ≫ Context On Close Lid running ≫ Mute the sound and turn off Bluetooth.

You can apply ControlPlane to match your style and enjoy your Life Hack!

Download ControlPlane at official site : https://www.controlplaneapp.com

--

--