Interview with National Geographic Photographer: Julian Bound

My Creative Wall
MyCreativeWall
Published in
4 min readApr 5, 2016

Julian, your work portfolio is extraordinary. You have also been featured in the National Geographic and the BBC News. Tell us how you started off as a photographer and reached these heights.

I was living in Asia and taking photographs for enjoyment when a journalist found my work and asked if I could cover some stories for him. From there my work evolved into what I produce now. By always putting 110% into your work every time, you will start to see results as your images begin to become recognized by the world media.

Pic Courtesy : Julian Bound

You have covered the lengths and breadths of Asia. What fascinates you about this continent?

Beauty and the simplicity of life are abundant in Asia. On every street corner you find a photographic opportunity. There is a creative stimulation seldom found in the western world, and then there are the smiles of the Asian people to accompany the eclectic scenes before you.

Pic Courtesy : Julian Bound

Honesty permeates through your pictures. One feels emotionally connected to your photographs. How do you manage to do this?

I have always found that by using a gentle approach with the people I wish to photograph pays off on many levels. With my camera in hand and giving a kind smile you tend to receive the same emotions in return. It is then you can capture the true soul of the person before your lens.

What is your usual workflow pattern? How do you plan and execute any project?

After checking my equipment the evening before a shoot, I usually take two to three hours actually taking my photographs the next day. Then it is processing and getting my images ready to send to agencies, this is what takes most of the time concerned with each project.

What are the challenges you face as a photographer? Any specific incident that you would like to mention?

The main challenges are in getting access to the places you want to photograph. Working with NGO’s and aid agencies grants you this access, but it is sometimes difficult to find a way into places when working alone.

Typically, what does your camera kit contain?

I use a Canon 7D as I find the camera’s internal speed to be perfect for capturing people’s emotions. My lens kit contains a Canon EOS EF 50mm f/1.8 for portraits, Canon EF 17–40mm f/4.0LUSM and a 16–300mm lens for general use.

Which has been your most memorable project and why?

There have been so many memorable projects in the past, be them from Hindu devotees on the banks of the River Ganges, the sulphur miners of Ijen volcano on the island of Java, Indonesia, at sunrise, or documenting the Nepal earthquakes of 2015. My most memorable in recent weeks has been a photographic essay of the preparations and ceremony of the Tibetan Buddhist monks of Gyuto monastery in Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh.

Pic Courtesy : Julian Bound

You have penned down more than 10 books till date. What are your books about? What inspires you to write?

My inspiration comes from the vibrancy of life found in Asia. I see my photography books as documents of Asian life, culture and tradition, covering subjects of the countries of Tibet, India, Nepal and Bhutan. I have also published a photography book on the religions of India (Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism and Christianity). My fiction novels are adventures of worldwide travel and are inspired by the teachings I have received on my travels from the Buddhist monks of Thailand to the India mystics of Northern India.

Pic Courtesy : Julian Bound

Any advice you would want to give to the aspiring photographers?

My best advice to any aspiring photographers is to go out there and take photos. To believe in yourself and your own abilities and to push the boundaries to be all that you can be.

To see more of Julian’s work, click here.

You can also purchase his books, here.

--

--

My Creative Wall
MyCreativeWall

A platform to showcase your creative talent and get hired.