Pejvak
mydaily(s)
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2014

--

Appreciation

I criticise the government, a lot. I complain about many things, about the country, the state or the city I live in.

At times I read about things that make my blood boil, or get disappointed at a new policy or way of doing things. I have all these ups and downs, all the time.

But sometimes, something happens that makes me take a step back and think. To take things into perspective and realise how lucky I am to live in a country that has/had such brilliant public figures like Stella Young.

Stella Young was an Australian comedian and journalist. She had a bachelor of journalism and worked as the editor of the ABC ‘s online magazine (Australian Broadcasting Corporation). She spent most of her life on a wheelchair and was a strong disability advocate, fighting for the right of people with disabilities.

Even though there are a lot of noise over the politics of disability programs, like introducing a new national scheme (during the previous Labor government), or winding it back (in the current government), in the end I see a country that cares. I see a country that treats its people like people. I see ramps everywhere, Braille alphabets on signs, guide dogs that are specially trained. Traffic lights that make special noises for those who can’t see. A commission dedicated for the rights of people with disabilities. All this to make sure everyone has the chance to get out, participate in the society and live their lives, to the best of their abilities.

I love the fact that, conversations today are around specific issues. Such as how to manage funding for this scheme or how to fight discrimination in the workplace. All I’m trying to say is that the basics are there and conversations are on a higher level.

That doesn’t mean we should stop taking the governments into account, take them for their words or stop trying to make things better. Australia is a first world country and has to provide first world and first class services. For everyone.

It’s just good to sometimes take a step back and appreciate living in such a great, caring (and wealthy) country.

--

--