Are You Spending Too Much Money As A Parent?

Check your minimalist parenting score and see where you stand.

Aditi K
MyFirst

--

Photo by Suke Tran on Unsplash

Minimalism is the most satisfactory thing that I could have ever experienced in my chaotic life.

After a few months of my son’s birth, everything started overflowing in our apartment. Just like all new moms I also used to love buying toys and trending clothes for my son. Though, I did the shopping only once a month. But, eventually, as time passed by all the expensive things that I had bought for him became useless. My son outgrew his clothes in a few months, and the toys remained locked up in the basket. His constant desire remained in playing in the backyard and with daily household items in case of indoors.

Working in the office my motherly hormones made me do tonnes of emotional shopping. But last year, the pandemic gave me a chance to stay close to my loved ones. I got to understand my son in a better way by working from home. As the months passed by, I realised that raising a child is not expensive. In fact, modern-day parenting is a self-created burden that parents build for themselves. Parenting is beyond those materialistic joys.

In 2016, a study of 2,000 parents with children between the ages of 2–12 looked at toy habits and trends across the generations and found the average

--

--

Aditi K
MyFirst

Sharing candid moments with research based information!