Don’t worry about cool, make your own uncool. Just Do.

Rainer Mbongo
I Used to be a Miserable F*cK
2 min readMay 22, 2018

--

Photo by malcolm lightbody on Unsplash

Yes, I know, I fucking like to use swearing words sometimes. Men! I’ve already used one already. Fuck. Shit. Damn. No, I don’t use the C word. Bitch. 😂 Sorry!
Yeah, some words are just hard to stop using when you start.
They say

Once you go black, there’s no going back.

It’s not that I haven’t tried. I have. Very much. But I had hugely underrated how difficult it is to remove a set of words from one’s vocabulary. Swearing had become so inscribed in me, such an essential part of my communication, that “fuck” has become like second nature to me. Even my grammar checker tool got tired of highlighting the offensive words in my text.

Learn to say “Fuck You” to the world once in a while.
So as much as I say to myself that I should learn to stop using those words. Sol LeWitt’s electrifying Letter to Eva Hesse from the book “Letters of Note: An Eclectic Collection of Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience” taught me that I should Learn to say “Fuck You” to the world once in a while. So guess I won’t stop anytime soon.

Dear Eva,

It will be almost a month since you wrote to me and you have possibly forgotten your state of mind (I doubt it though). You seem the same as always, and being you, hate every minute of it. Don’t! Learn to say “Fuck You” to the world once in a while. You have every right to. Just stop thinking, worrying, looking over your shoulder, wondering, doubting, fearing, hurting, hoping for some easy way out, struggling, grasping, confusing, itching, scratching, mumbling, bumbling, grumbling, humbling, stumbling, numbling, rambling, gambling, tumbling, scumbling, scrambling, hitching, hatching, bitching, moaning, groaning, honing, boning, horse-shitting, hair-splitting, nit-picking, piss-trickling, nose sticking, ass-gouging, eyeball-poking, finger-pointing, alleyway-sneaking, long waiting, small stepping, evil-eyeing, back-scratching, searching, perching, besmirching, grinding, grinding, grinding away at yourself. Stop it and just

DO

So the letter tries to tell Eva not to think twice. To stop doubting herself and to just go do what she gotta go do.

So I’ll keep using the words, I don’t want to self-doubt myself so I’ll just Do.

--

--

Rainer Mbongo
I Used to be a Miserable F*cK

I am a Visual Communicator, a Hopeless Romantic, Introvert, Writer, Procrastinator, 😂 and other stuff you can’t impress girls with. Coder XgamingServer