My Vacation In Portland

Ryan Hessel
2 min readJul 28, 2018

If you’ve never been and are a young adult get ready for paradise. If you’ve never been and are a chill open minded and slightly off individual welcome to paradise. If you hate Trump good news, this city probably does as much as you. I don’t know if it’s because weed is legal there and that takes the edge away from everyone but I’ve never been to a place where everyone is so intoxicatingly friendly.

The funny thing is this Portlandia sketch is only a little bit exaggerated. Maybe it’s because where I live everyone drives like they’re on acid mixed with PCP. You can tell a lot about a person from the way that they drive, and everyone in Portland drives like it’s Sunday and they just had the best massage of their life. Normally that would annoy me, but 1: I didn’t have to drive. I left that up to one of my best pals and the occasional Uber driver, and 2: the way people drive just added to the general mood of the city. Creative, comfortable, full of stories and activities. You’d have to live there a lifetime to even get close to consuming everything Portland has to offer. They have great shops, food, good ol’ fashioned movie theaters, and not to mention the views. So many hiking trails and views of mountains, waterfalls, and of course the whole city It’s a place to let the creative mind run wild.

This picture only slightly captures my brand new happy place. My buddy and I call it “The Watering Hole”, it’s hidden in the woods through narrow winding trails composed of stairs made out of tree roots. It’s the ultimate high school playground filled with pot smokers, underaged drinking, and for people like me who just want an excuse to jump off something, a cliff that ends in a 12 foot deep body of H2O.

Take my advice, visit Portland when you get the opportunity. It feels like home and I wouldn’t be surprised if one day I end up living there.

--

--

Ryan Hessel

Here to spew whatever sickness inhabits my mind. Good or bad.