poison

Winnie Kamau
I Used to be a Miserable F*cK
1 min readApr 3, 2018

Poisonous eyes,

That is what I see every time I look,

And every time, they pull and I fall!

Knights in shining armour are rare

But gleaming armours are quintessential warning signs.

As his is, polished and modified to perfection

And yet, I am drawn by the sparkle and shine.

I’m intrigued by the way he looks at me

One perusal and I feel naked.

Open and turned

The way he speaks, quiet and confident

Cocky with a hint of arrogance

But still I want to drown in those arms

Build my hopes and dreams,

Castles and cribs

He is staunchly guarded,

And i want to break down the doors and gates

Drawbridge and moats

See the creature that lies beneath,

Beauty or beast

Meanwhile I dance to the tune

Believe that I can be Juliette for some time

Because this Montague is so much more

He is air, water, fire and howling wind.

And he wants everything for naught.

So we are still star crossed,

He is too used to being a Montague puppet master

And I, a Capulet marionette

--

--

Winnie Kamau
I Used to be a Miserable F*cK

when no one listens to you, write, because the page will always listen.