Doing the Couch to 5K running Program

Elena von Rosenberg
MyHealthScript
Published in
3 min readAug 10, 2023

Like many people I used to exercise a lot more when I was younger. One of the things I did a lot of in my twenties was running, including in Triathlons and Marathons.

People can get fit again at any age, but this needs to be balanced with a sustainable program that is enjoyable, achievable and minimises the chance of getting injured (which can cause frustrating down time along the way).

Learning point 1: Getting fit takes a bit of time. Think of it as a journey, rather than a short-term goal.

My last attempt at running

About 8 years ago, I took up running again after a long break. Because I had done it before (and because I find running to be a rather addictive pastime) I overdid it. Instead of taking it one step at a time and building up my fitness gradually, I quickly got back to running about 10km several times a week.

My daughter was getting into running at the same time, so we often ran together. This was enjoyable, but I was tempted to push things along a bit quicker than I should have as we progressed.

Learning point 2: It’s great to exercise with others, but remember that you won’t always be at the same stage. Fit in with the group, but work at your own level.

I ended up overdoing it, with the predictable consequence that I got an injury which meant I needed to give up running for a while. I ended up not starting again.

Fast forward to this year. I’d been going to the gym and walking a bit and decided that I would like to try running again, but this time do it sensibly. After a bit of googling I found the 5K runner app (there are lots of similar apps out there, so look around).

This app offers an 8 week program to start from nothing and ending up running 5km. The starting point on day one was a 5 minute warm up, followed by a 1 minute run and a 1.5 minute walk repeated 6 times, and ending with a 5 minute cool down. This wasn’t too daunting, so I gave it a try. To start with, my “runs” were probably slower than the walks, but I did it!

I stuck to the program and didn’t try and take any short cuts. In my case, I chose to run 3 times a week, but sometimes delayed runs by a day or two when busy.

Learning point 3: Sometimes life gets in the way, but don’t stop! Missing a day now and then is normal, not failure

The app gives you reminders and encouragement along the way. It is smart enough to track your progress and will adjust your program as you go so you can keep going within your limits. Progressing steadily and safely was a huge motivational boost for me, even on days when I felt like putting it off.

I finished the program and did my first 5km run in years just recently. I enjoyed the process, didn’t hurt myself, and now feel empowered to keep going. I felt a great sense of achievement.

So am I going to get back to long distance running now? No, I don’t think so. I’m going to maintain my new running habit along with some walking and gym. My goal now is to keep going for the long term, and make sure that my exercise can fit into my life.

You might consider a program like this as an achievable project to get your activity levels back into a regular rhythm. Or you might find you want to start another way. MyHealthScript is all about finding your path forward to achieving sustainable, long-term activity in your life. Commit to giving it a try: you will feel the benefits and get the rewards!

My Certificate!

Originally published at https://www.myhealthscript.com on August 10, 2023.

--

--