How to Start Exercising — Again

Elena von Rosenberg
MyHealthScript
Published in
3 min readMay 29, 2023

When the pandemic hit, rules and regulations were implemented to keep the community safe. However, many people lost their exercise routines due to closed sports and exercise facilities and other limitations. have confirmed that the pandemic has decreased activity levels in the community.

The pandemic has influenced us in many ways. But becoming inactive will have a dramatic future effect on us that could last a lifetime. Early death, mental health struggles and chronic disease, to name a few.

I used to go to a 90 min Yoga class each weekend. This class gave me much-needed time with myself, my body and mind. It would regulate stress, relax my sore and stiff muscles and centre me for the coming week. So life always looked a bit brighter for me when I left the studio.

Yoga has been scientifically linked to the following beneficial effects:

Sadly, my Yoga studio closed during COVID and never re-opened.

Last week, almost 1.5 years after I stopped my Yoga practice, my body felt sore; I was stressed out and needed some me-time. So I decided to drop into a Yoga class. I was met by a wonderful teacher full of positive energy and good vibes. Her vibe was pretty much the opposite of what I was feeling.

When I stepped onto my mat, I felt an immediate shift. My mind stopped racing, my shoulders dropped, and my breathing slowed. My body and mind knew exactly what to do. The habit I once formed was still there. I remembered why Yoga used to be an integral part of my life.

I left with relaxed muscles, a clear mind, and renewed energy. Yoga brings joy, clarity and well-being to my life.

If you would like to try Yoga, there are many different types. Some are fast and strenuous, and others are slow-paced and relaxing. Some focus on relaxation, and some on the physical aspect. Some are even held sitting on a chair. Do some research online and see which style resonates with you.

Yoga is more than physical exercise. It is a holistic practice rooted in India, over 3000 years old, and still relevant today: it includes meditation, breath work, ethical principles and self-discipline.

Many inactive patients of mine were once active. They once enjoyed exercise in some form. Finding your way back to a forgotten passion can often make the return to exercise much easier than anticipated.

  • What exercise did I use to enjoy?
  • What barriers are for me to get back to it?
  • What did I enjoy about it?
  • Can I find an exercise similar to what I once enjoyed? (e.g. a similar social aspect or outdoor/indoor setting)?
  • What are the steps I need to take to get started?

We encourage our users to find an exercise routine they enjoy. This is what will keep it sustainable.

Originally published at https://www.myhealthscript.com on May 29, 2023.

--

--