Ordination Prayer: Four Principles from A.W. Tozer

Learning from our forebears in the faith.

Karen Vizzard
MyLampstand
3 min readSep 25, 2023

--

A man kneeling in prayer in front of a body of water.
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Hebrews 11 delineates what has become known as the “Hall of Faith,” and is described in the next chapter as “a cloud of witnesses” surrounding us; examples of faith from believers throughout the Bible. Not only can we learn from the witnesses of these believers, but also from many other Christians that have gone before us. One such example is A.W. Tozer, a pastor, author, and mentor to many. I recently read the prayer he wrote right after being ordained as a minister, and found encouragement and principles to work toward in my own life.

Be Prepared

“O Lord, I have heard Thy voice and was afraid. Thou hast called me to an awesome task in a grave and perilous hour. Thou are about to shake all nations and the earth and also heaven, that the things that cannot be shaken may remain.”

When tough and chaotic times come, we will be afraid, shaken, and lost if we do not have a strong foundation of knowledge and trust in the Lord. There is an adage often attributed to a Navy SEAL which says, “Under pressure, you don’t rise to the occasion, you sink to the level of your training.” We need to be consistently training ourselves to follow the Holy Spirit’s promptings, rather than our own flesh, so that when times of sifting come, we will remain in the Lord.

Remember Who Changes Hearts

“My God, I shall not waste time deploring my weakness nor my unfittedness for the work. The responsibility is not mine but Thine. Thou hast said, ‘I knew thee — I ordained thee — I sanctified thee,’ and Thou has also said, ‘Thou shalt go to all that I shall send thee, and whatsoever I command thee thou shalt speak.’”

God delights in using us to expand His kingdom, but it is He who ultimately softens and convicts hearts. We will never be fully fit for this honor while still in our bodies of clay. Rather than discourage us from trying however, this knowledge should inspire us to work free from the pressure of perfection, knowing that it is God who is truly at work.

Speak Boldly

“I beseech Thee, give me sharp eyes to detect the presence of the enemy; give me understanding to distinguish the false friend from the true. Give me vision to see and courage to report what I see faithfully. Make my voice so like Thine own that even the sick sheep will recognize it and follow Thee.”

Our time in study and prayer should equip us for time spent in the world. Dependence on the Holy Spirit gives us discernment to avoid the enemy’s schemes, and courage to declare the goodness of God we’ve experienced in our lives. I don’t remember where I heard this phrase, but I often use it in my prayers, “May whatever is spoken in heaven be spoken through me.”

Stay Alert

“Let me not waste my days puttering around the house. Lay Thy terror upon me, O God, and drive me to the place of prayer where I may wrestle with principalities and powers and the rulers of the darkness of this world. Deliver me from overeating and late sleeping. Teach me self-discipline that I may be a good soldier of Jesus Christ.”

It’s not always the obvious which ensnares us. Comfort, complacency, and laziness so easily creep into our lives and diminish our desire to serve. In 2 Corinthians, Paul mentions the “ministry of the Spirit” to which we belong. The roots of the term “ministry” are from the Greek words meaning “thoroughly” and “dust,” painting a picture of stirring up dust while completing a task. Ask for God’s help in maintaining this sense of urgency in the service of others and not falling into the trap of an easy life.

“Then, dear Lord, when I am old and weary and too tired to go on, have a place ready for me above, and make me to be numbered with Thy saints in glory everlasting. Amen.”

--

--

Karen Vizzard
MyLampstand

Christian, writer, photographer, NASM CPT. See more at https://mylampstand.com There’s a 96.7% chance you‘ll be happy you did! ←not a real statistic