BBG Baby Joe drops hot debut album “NBA Gurilla”

Andy Rodriguez
3 min readSep 6, 2018

--

BBG Baby Joe (twitter|instagram) drops 11 tracks in his new hit album, with 2 tracks featuring special guest artists Yungeen Ace and BBG Dee.

NBA Gurilla by BBG Baby Joe

In a tweet, BBG Baby Joe casually drops that this his debut mixtape is about to drop.

In the album artwork of “NBA Gurilla” we see “RIP Gurilla”, signaling that this is his tribute to the late Boozilla. He calls out to Boozilla in one of his tracks, my personal favorite, “Came FRM”.

The song starts with a verse that gives a shout-out to Boozilla.

Long live Boozilla
Shit, forever goin’ the dumb way, you heard me?
That’s a lifestyle, I’m tellin’ you
And that’s that Baby Joe shit, you heard me?
Shit, multiple ways to go with that Baby Joe shit though
But just check this one out, gang

With verses that give us a vivid glimpse into BBG Baby Joe’s childhood. He opens up about losing his pet, growing up without a father, and his brother getting imprisoned.

November 2nd I lost my dog and that shit hurted me
Don’t give a fuck, I load it up when it be time to creep
Think about my daddy, that shit fucked up, he wasn’t here with me
Brother did his best, he caught a body, it’s like they sentenced me

And then he fuses these verses together with a powerful chorus with lyrics that talk about the struggle he went through growing up and the choices he had to make to survive. The tracks in this mix, especially this song, really echoes and resonates with the listeners, and you just can’t stop listening.

I came from nothin’, how can they hate on me?
I come from sleepin’ up in cars and stealin’ just for to eat
I come from slangin’ rods, and killin’ when it’s time to beef
So keep it real, youngin you fuckin’ with me?
I came from nothin’, what the fuck you mean, how can they hate on me?

Check out the complete tracklist below:
1. In Too Deep
2. Draco
3. Foolishness
4. Smoke
5. Stick Up
6. Nightmares
7. Came FRM (Feat. Yungeen Ace)
8. BuzzerBeater
9. Step Team
10. Living (Feat. BBG Dee)
11. Iraq

And click the link below and hit play to listen to his complete album. Show him some love for this dope debut drop in the comments!

Finally, don’t forget to check out other singles by BBG BabyJoe, and while you’re at it, be part of the My Mixtapez community for the freshest news on hip hop — from up and coming artists to worldwide famous rappers.

--

--