“Pray For Me” is Hunnid’s Key to Mainstream Success

Colin Devine
3 min readNov 5, 2018

--

October 10 was a great day for rapper Hunnid; his debut album “Pray For Me” was released to all music platforms, and he was finally ready to take on the world outside his beloved Bay Area.

Pray For Me by Hunnid

Originally from Hayward, Hunnid held nothing back in the writing process of all 10 tracks (plus a bonus number) and touched on a host of issues that he’s dealt with in his life - whether it be his drug-peddling past, his stint in prison, or the success he’s currently enjoying as one of the Bay Area’s standout indie rappers. Combined with radio-ready beats and singable verses, Hunnid’s lyrics are meaningful and compelling yet sheer enough to play into the popular. Songs like “Vision” and “Let Me Know” successfully follow mainstream melodies and lyricism without compromising the genuineness of the rapper’s sentiments, as he’s always out to keep it a hunnid.

Let me know, let me know
Started from the bottom now it’s diamonds on gold
Ever since I made it n*ggas hatin’ on the low
But those be the same n*ggas blowin’ up my phone

The work and the corresponding success is well-founded on a personal persistence to make something of oneself. In Hunnid’s interview with Thizzler, the rapper shared what inspired “Pray For Me” and why the project proves his grounded drive to be the best hip hop artist he can be:

“Pray For Me” is my debut album. I was incarcerated for 3 years. While I was locked up I kept saying to myself, “when I get out, my goal is to become one of the best musicians, not only out the Bay, but overall” … When everything is taken away from you, it definitely makes you reflect on what is or should have been important to you. When I was incarcerated I would talk to my friends and family on the phone and they would all tell me they would “pray for me”. That was a turning point in my life and that’s why I focused my debut album around it.

And numbers and engagement don’t lie. With well-deserved media recognition from the likes of WorldStarHipHop (WSHH) and Thizzler On The Roof, it’s clear people are taking notice of the work Hunnid’s been putting into his music.

“Pray For Me” is a classically solid mix - with its club-banging crowd favorites such as “Silver Surfer”, more honest jams such as “My Message”, and every track in between. Tune in to the entire album, ready for streaming on My Mixtapez today!

And when you’re done with that, do yourself a favor and watch the yt510filmz-produced visual for “Juice” featuring Chicago gem Swagg Dinero below:

Ready to keep it a hunnid? Check out your boy’s Instagram to keep track of his latest releases and live performances, and show him some love over on the comments!

--

--