Best of 2015: iTunes Podcasts (Canada Edition)

Danielle Geva
Mypodnotes: Podcast Show Notes
29 min readDec 11, 2015

--

Here are the podcasts everyone’s talking about. Discover new episodes to listen to by reading the highlights from the show notes.

Best Classic Podcast

q: The Podcast from CBC Radio

CBC Radio’s q is Canada’s liveliest arts, culture and entertainment magazine. q covers pop culture and high arts alike, with forays into the most provocative and compelling cultural trends. q brings you big names, big ideas, and those paving the way in Canada’s cultural community. q is your cultural intervention!

Highlights

Listen

Best New Podcast

Mystery Show

A podcast where Starlee Kine solves mysteries.

Highlights

Listen

Classics

The Adam Carolla Show

Welcome to the Adam Carolla Show! The new home for the rantings and ravings of Adam Carolla. The Adam Carolla Show is the #1 Daily Downloaded Podcast in the World. GET IT ON as Adam shares his thoughts on current events, relationships, airport security, specialty pizzas, politics, and anything else he can complain about. Five days a week and completely uncensored, Adam welcomes a wide range of guests to join him in studio for in depth interviews and a front row seat to his unparalleled ranting. Let’s not forget Bryan Bishop (Bald Bryan) on sound effects. Check it out as Adam hangs out with some of his pals like: Larry Miller, David Allen Grier, Dr. Drew Pinksy, Dana Gould, Doug Benson, and many, many more.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

CANADALAND

Media criticism. Self-abuse. If someone else were doing this, I wouldn’t have to. New episode every Monday.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Comedy Bang Bang: The Podcast

Join host Scott Aukerman (“Comedy Bang! Bang!” on IFC, “Mr. Show”) for a weekly podcast that blends conversation and character work from today’s funniest comedians. While Scott begins by traditionally interviewing the celebrities, the open-door policy means an assortment of eccentric oddballs can pop by at any moment to chat, compete in games, and engage in comic revelry. With all that, and regular bonus episodes, we bet your favorite part will still be the plugs!

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Current from CBC Radio

CBC Radio’s The Current is a meeting place of perspectives with a fresh take on issues that affect Canadians today.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History

In “Hardcore History” journalist and broadcaster Dan Carlin takes his “Martian”, unorthodox way of thinking and applies it to the past. Was Alexander the Great as bad a person as Adolf Hitler? What would Apaches with modern weapons be like? Will our modern civilization ever fall like civilizations from past eras? This isn’t academic history (and Carlin isn’t a historian) but the podcast’s unique blend of high drama, masterful narration and Twilight Zone-style twists has entertained millions of listeners.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Documentaries

The best of BBC World Service documentaries and other factual programmes.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Global News Podcast

The day’s top stories from BBC News compiled twice daily in the week, once at weekends.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Grownups Read Things They Wrote as Kids

Remembering the good, the bad, and the awkward parts of growing up

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Ideas from CBC Radio

Ideas is CBC Radio’s program of contemporary thought.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Leafs Lunch

Bryan Hayes, Jamie McLennan, and Jeff O’Neill deliver two full hours of latest breaking news, opinions and analysis on the Leafs and from around the NHL.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Monday Morning Podcast

Bill Burr rants about relationship advice, sports and the Illuminati.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Nerdist

I am Chris Hardwick. I am on TV a lot and have a blog at nerdist.com. This podcast is basically just me talking about stuff and things with my two nerdy friends Jonah Ray and Matt Mira, and usually someone more famous than all of us. Occasionally we swear because that is fun. I hope you like it, but if you don’t I’m sure you will not hesitate to unfurl your rage in the ‘reviews’ section because that’s how the Internet works.

Highlights

Listen

Oilers Audio Podcast

With Edmonton Oilers Podcast, you can listen to audio on the NHL’s Edmonton Oilers on game days, after practices and more.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Planet Money

Money makes the world go around, faster and faster every day. On NPR’s Planet Money, you’ll meet high rollers, brainy economists and regular folks — all trying to make sense of our rapidly changing global economy.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Prime Time Sports

Bob McCown hosts the daily radio show that goes beyond the scores and digs into the major issues in sports to look at them from a Canadian point of view. Listen to interviews with people making the news, and opinions that are thought-provoking. As heard weekdays in Toronto on Sportsnet 590 The Fan, and throughout Canada on the Sportnet Radio Network.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Quirks & Quarks

CBC Radio’s Quirks & Quarks covers the quirks of the expanding universe to the quarks within a single atom… and everything in between.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Real Time with Bill Maher

Real Time with Bill Maher including his New Rules and Overtime segments with his guest panelists.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Serial

Serial is a podcast from the creators of This American Life, hosted by Sarah Koenig. Serial unfolds one story — a true story — over the course of a whole season. The show follows the plot and characters wherever they lead, through many surprising twists and turns. Sarah won’t know what happens at the end of the story until she gets there, not long before you get there with her. Each week she’ll bring you the latest chapter, so it’s important to listen in, starting with Episode 1. New episodes are released on Thursday mornings.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Shane And Friends

I’m Shane Dawson and I have a lot of friends. Most of them are in my head. Listen as me and my producer Lauren Schnipper talk about stuff we think is funny and interview people we hope are funny. Also I like to do character voices and celebrity impressions but I promise, it’s not as annoying as it sounds.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe

The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe is a weekly Podcast talkshow discussing the latest news and topics from the world of the paranormal, fringe science, and controversial claims from a scientific point of view. The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe: Your escape to reality. Produced by the New England Skeptical Society in association with the James Randi Educational Foundation(JREF): http://www.theness.com

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

StarTalk Radio

Science meets comedy and pop culture on StarTalk Radio! Astrophysicist and Hayden Planetarium director Neil deGrasse Tyson, his comic co-hosts, guest celebrities and scientists discuss astronomy, physics, and everything else about life in the universe.

Highlights

Listen

Stuff To Blow Your Mind

Deep in the back of your mind, you’ve always had the feeling that there’s something strange about reality. There is. Join Robert, Joe and Christian as they examine neurological quandaries, cosmic mysteries, evolutionary marvels and our transhuman future on Stuff To Blow Your Mind, a podcast from HowStuffWorks.com.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

TED Radio Hour

The TED Radio Hour is a journey through fascinating ideas: astonishing inventions, fresh approaches to old problems, new ways to think and create. Based on Talks given by riveting speakers on the world-renowned TED stage, each show is centered on a common theme — such as the source of happiness, crowd-sourcing innovation, power shifts, or inexplicable connections. The TED Radio Hour is hosted by Guy Raz, and is a co-production of NPR & TED.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

TEDTalks

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. On this feed, you’ll find TEDTalks video to inspire, intrigue and stir the imagination from some of the world’s leading thinkers and doers, speaking from the stage at TED conferences, TEDx events and partner events around the world. This podcast is also available in high-def video and audio-only formats.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Tim and Sid

Tim Micallef and Sid Seixeiro debate the hot-button issues from the world of sports. They also talk about other stuff. Cool stuff.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Tim Ferriss Show

Tim Ferriss is a self-experimenter and bestselling author, best known for The 4-Hour Workweek, which has been translated into 40+ languages. Newsweek calls him “the world’s best human guinea pig,” and The New York Times calls him “a cross between Jack Welch and a Buddhist monk.” In this show, he deconstructs world-class performers from eclectic areas (investing, chess, pro sports, etc.), digging deep to find the tools, tactics, and tricks that listeners can use.

Highlights

Listen

Under the Influence from CBC Radio

Under The Influence gives you a rare backstage pass into the hallways, boardrooms and recording studios of the ad industry. Join host and adman Terry O’Reilly for fascinating stories that connect the dots between pop culture, marketing and human nature.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

WTF with Marc Maron Podcast

Comedian Marc Maron is tackling the most complex philosophical question of our day — WTF? He’ll get to the bottom of it with help from comedian friends, celebrity guests and the voices in his own head.

Highlights

Listen

New This Year

The Allusionist

Linguistic adventures with Helen Zaltzman for Radiotopia from PRX.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Birds All Day

Weekly discussion of Toronto Blue Jays baseball with Drew Fairservice and Andrew Stoeten — two Toronto-based baseball writers with work published at the National Post, FanGraphs, VICE, theScore, Toronto Life, and more, and creators of seminal Jays blogs Ghostrunner On First and Drunk Jays Fans.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Black Tapes Podcast

The Black Tapes is a weekly podcast from the creators of Pacific Northwest Stories, and is hosted by Alex Reagan. The Black Tapes Podcast is a serialized docudrama about one journalist’s search for truth, her subject’s mysterious past, and the literal and figurative ghosts that haunt them both. Do you believe?

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

CANADALAND COMMONS

Desmond Cole and Andray Domise want to know how their country works, why they should care and what they should do.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Dear Hank & John

Hank and John Green (YouTubers and etc) answer questions, give questionable advice, and talk about Mars (the planet) and AFC Wimbledon (the 4th tier English football club).

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Dude Soup

Jump in the Dude Soup — all the gaming, nerd culture, and meat-packing industry commentary you can handle.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Irrelevant Show

From the frustrations of daily life, to the absurdities of pop culture, to absurd flights of fancy, you never know where the Irrelevant Show will take you next. Award-winning comedy recorded before a live audience in Edmonton.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Friday Night Comedy from BBC Radio 4

Enjoy a satirical take on the week’s news with the cream of UK comedy talent. The News Quiz and The Now Show from BBC Radio 4.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Giant Beastcast

The Giant Bomb East team gathers to talk about the week in video games, their lives, and basically anything that interests them. All from New York City!

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Happier with Gretchen Rubin

Gretchen Rubin is HAPPIER, and she wants you to be happier too. The #1 bestselling author of The Happiness Project and Better Than Before gets more personal than ever as she brings her practical, manageable advice about happiness and good habits to this lively, thought-provoking podcast. Gretchen’s cohost and guinea pig is her younger sister, Elizabeth Craft, a TV writer and producer living in Los Angeles, who (lovingly) refers to Gretchen as her happiness bully. Part of the Panoply Network.

Highlights

Listen

Hello from the Magic Tavern

Hi. I’m Arnie. I fell through a portal behind a Burger King into the magical land of Foon. I’m still trying to get my bearings, but I have my podcasting gear and get a weak WiFi signal from the Burger King so I figured I might as well set up shop at the nearby inn and interview some people. When in Foon…

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

JustKiddingNews

Real News. Realer Opinions.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Kinda Funny Gamescast

Every week Tim Gettys, Greg Miller, and Colin Moriarty talk about everything going on in the video game world. Sometimes there are guests, sometimes there is a wiener dog, all the times Tim will say something ridiculous.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

L’autre midi à la table d’à côté

Cette série originale et unique permet de faire d’étonnantes découvertes sur l’humour, les préoccupations et les contradictions des invités, sur les affinités des uns et la complémentarité des autres.

Listen

Les Nuits de France Culture

LES NUITS DE FRANCE CULTURE

Listen

Lore

Lore is a bi-weekly podcast about the history behind scary stories. The people, places, and things of our darkest nightmares all have real facts at their core. Each episode of Lore looks into a uniquely scary tale and uncovers the truth of what’s behind it. Sometimes the truth is more frightening than fiction.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Mike on Much

Hosted, written, and produced by seasoned writer, director, and producer Mike Veerman, and co-produced by Max Kerman, lead singer of the four-time JUNO Award-winning rock band Arkells, THE MIKE ON MUCH PODCAST features long-form interviews with compelling cultural figures from the world of music, comedy, acting, and writing.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Mortified Podcast

The Mortified Podcast is a storytelling series where adults share the embarrassing things they created as kids — diaries, letters, lyrics & beyond — in front of total strangers. PS: It totally likes you. A proud member of Radiotopia from PRX.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The SourceFed Podcast

Join the gang from the YouTube channel SourceFed as they discuss nothing and everything at the same time. If you give us your ears for an hour, I promise you will regret it.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

SPONTANEANATION with Paul F. Tompkins

SPONTANEANATION WITH PAUL F. TOMPKINS is a completely improvised show, from monologue to interview to narrative sketch. Join Paul, his special guests, his incredibly talented improviser friends, and accompanist Eban Schletter for an hour of comedy that none of them ever see coming.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Under the Influence from CBC Radio

Under The Influence gives you a rare backstage pass into the hallways, boardrooms and recording studios of the ad industry. Join host and adman Terry O’Reilly for fascinating stories that connect the dots between pop culture, marketing and human nature.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Undisclosed: The State Vs. Adnan Syed

In the wake of Serial, much new evidence and information has been discovered and uncovered thanks to the investigations of attorneys Susan Simpson, Colin Miller, and the Adnan Syed Legal Trust. “Undisclosed” will examine and explore the case in greater detail, from an investigatory perspective instead of a narrative one.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Recent Debuts

Aujourd’hui l’histoire

Comprendre notre passé, c’est comprendre ce que nous avons été pour mieux comprendre qui nous sommes aujourd’hui. Chaque soir, aborde un fait, un événement ou une idée qui a marqué l’histoire, la nôtre ou celle des autres, en compagnie d’un ou de plusieurs invités. Les sujets peuvent être sérieux ou légers. Regards de jeunes, regards empreints d’expérience, regards de femmes, regards d’ hommes, regards d’ ici et d’ailleurs… l’émission aborde le passé dans toutes ses dimensions : histoire politique, histoire sociale, histoire populaire. Naturellement, les événements liés à l’histoire contemporaine sont illustrés par des extraits d’archives sonores tirés de la collection de Radio-Canada.

Listen

The Big Podcast With Shaq

Much bigger than sports, “The Big Podcast with Shaq” is fun, topical, and slightly irreverent. Shaquille O’Neal talks news, entertainment, controversy, and the crazy life of the Diesel himself. Shaq and his sports sidekick, John Kincade never know who will show up to shoot the proverbial shh..uh, well, you know.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Bill Simmons Podcast

HBO’s Bill Simmons relaunches the most downloaded sports podcast of all-time with a rotating crew of celebrities, athletes and media members, as well as mainstays like Cousin Sal, Joe House and other friends and family members who always happen to be suspiciously available.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Conversation With Alanis Morissette

Conversations with different individuals from different schools and walks of life discussing everything from psychology to art to spirituality to design to health and well-being, to relationships (whether they be romantic or colleagueship or parent with children relationships). Alanis will dive into science, neurobiology, music, travel, social commentary, maybe a tiny bit of political, and feminism (which Alanis likes to call “the Feminine Movement in both Males and Females Alike”) the conversations will touch on topics that move the guest and Alanis herself toward philosophizing in real time, as well as illuminate any teachings, ideas and models already established.

Highlights

Listen

The Herd with Colin Cowherd

The Herd with Colin Cowherd is a thought-provoking, opinionated, and topic-driven journey through the top sports stories of the day.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Hidden Brain

A conversation about life’s unseen patterns.

Highlights

Listen

History on Fire

Where history and epic collide — “History on Fire” is a podcast by author and university professor Daniele Bolelli.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Limetown

Ten years ago, over three hundred men, women and children disappeared from a small town in Tennessee, never to be heard from again. In this seven-part podcast, American Public Radio host Lia Haddock asks the question once more, “What happened to the people of Limetown?”

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Magic Lessons

MAGIC LESSONS are road maps for the path to creativity, the extra nudge you need when you’re feeling stuck. In alternating episodes, Elizabeth Gilbert talks to people who are facing creative challenges and to guest experts, to offer perspective, advice, and inspiration. Gilbert is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of EAT PRAY LOVE and BIG MAGIC: CREATIVE LIVING BEYOND FEAR (publishing on September 22, 2015). The podcast is produced by MaximumFun.org and Riverhead Books.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Question of the Day

Question of the Day is the show for listeners who are short on time and long on curiosity. It is a fast-paced conversation between author and entrepreneur James Altucher and Freakonomics co-author Stephen Dubner: two smart, unconventional thinkers who have been talking together for years, often over a long-running backgammon match. Now they are letting you in on the game, too. You will quickly become addicted to their wonderful, wry observations as they ponder each Question of the Day.

Highlights

Listen

Sickboy Podcast

Join hosts Jeremie, Brian, and Taylor as they hangout and have an unapologetic, unpolished and unfiltered discussion about what it’s like to live life with a disease, in the hopes of finding humour in an otherwise taboo and sometimes dark subject.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Surprisingly Awesome

A show hosted by Adams Davidson and McKay that reveals the hidden awesomeness in everyday things. From Gimlet Media.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Trailer Park Boys

Join Ricky, Julian and Bubbles for the most outrageous comedy podcast on the world pipe! Watch the video version at www.swearnet.com

Highlights

Listen

Women Of The Hour

Lena Dunham hosts this podcast miniseries about friendship, love, work, bodies and more.

Highlights

Listen

Most Downloaded

99% Invisible

Design is everywhere in our lives, perhaps most importantly in the places where we’ve just stopped noticing. 99% Invisible (99 Percent Invisible) is a weekly exploration of the process and power of design and architecture. From award winning producer Roman Mars, KALW in San Francisco, and Radiotopia from PRX.

Highlights

Listen

The Adam Carolla Show

Welcome to the Adam Carolla Show! The new home for the rantings and ravings of Adam Carolla. The Adam Carolla Show is the #1 Daily Downloaded Podcast in the World. GET IT ON as Adam shares his thoughts on current events, relationships, airport security, specialty pizzas, politics, and anything else he can complain about. Five days a week and completely uncensored, Adam welcomes a wide range of guests to join him in studio for in depth interviews and a front row seat to his unparalleled ranting. Let’s not forget Bryan Bishop (Bald Bryan) on sound effects. Check it out as Adam hangs out with some of his pals like: Larry Miller, David Allen Grier, Dr. Drew Pinksy, Dana Gould, Doug Benson, and many, many more.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Current from CBC Radio

CBC Radio’s The Current is a meeting place of perspectives with a fresh take on issues that affect Canadians today.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Documentaries

The best of BBC World Service documentaries and other factual programmes.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Economist Radio

The Economist was founded in 1843 “to throw white light on the subjects within its range”.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Freakonomics Radio

Have fun discovering the hidden side of everything with host Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the best-selling “Freakonomics” books. Each week, hear surprising conversations that explore the riddles of everyday life and the weird wrinkles of human nature — from cheating and crime to parenting and sports. Dubner talks with Nobel laureates and provocateurs, social scientists and entrepreneurs — and his “Freakonomics” co-author Steve Levitt. After just a few episodes, this podcast will have you too thinking like a Freak. Produced by WNYC Studios, home of other great podcasts such as “Radiolab,” “Death, Sex & Money,” and “On the Media.”

Highlights

Listen

Global News Podcast

The day’s top stories from BBC News compiled twice daily in the week, once at weekends.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Ideas from CBC Radio

Ideas is CBC Radio’s program of contemporary thought.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Joe Rogan Experience

The podcast of Comedian Joe Rogan.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

The Nerdist

I am Chris Hardwick. I am on TV a lot and have a blog at nerdist.com. This podcast is basically just me talking about stuff and things with my two nerdy friends Jonah Ray and Matt Mira, and usually someone more famous than all of us. Occasionally we swear because that is fun. I hope you like it, but if you don’t I’m sure you will not hesitate to unfurl your rage in the ‘reviews’ section because that’s how the Internet works.

Highlights

Listen

Planet Money

Money makes the world go around, faster and faster every day. On NPR’s Planet Money, you’ll meet high rollers, brainy economists and regular folks — all trying to make sense of our rapidly changing global economy.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Prime Time Sports

Bob McCown hosts the daily radio show that goes beyond the scores and digs into the major issues in sports to look at them from a Canadian point of view. Listen to interviews with people making the news, and opinions that are thought-provoking. As heard weekdays in Toronto on Sportsnet 590 The Fan, and throughout Canada on the Sportnet Radio Network.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

PTI

Tony Kornheiser and Michael Wilbon face off on the day’s hottest topics.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

q: The Podcast from CBC Radio

CBC Radio’s q is Canada’s liveliest arts, culture and entertainment magazine. q covers pop culture and high arts alike, with forays into the most provocative and compelling cultural trends. q brings you big names, big ideas, and those paving the way in Canada’s cultural community. q is your cultural intervention!

Highlights

Listen

Radiolab

A two-time Peabody Award-winner, Radiolab is an investigation told through sounds and stories, and centered around one big idea. In the Radiolab world, information sounds like music and science and culture collide. Hosted by Jad Abumrad and Robert Krulwich, the show is designed for listeners who demand skepticism, but appreciate wonder.

Highlights

Listen

Rooster Teeth Podcast

On a weekly basis the Rooster Teeth (creators of Red vs Blue) crew discuss gaming, pop culture and projects that they are currently working on.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Serial

Serial is a podcast from the creators of This American Life, hosted by Sarah Koenig. Serial unfolds one story — a true story — over the course of a whole season. The show follows the plot and characters wherever they lead, through many surprising twists and turns. Sarah won’t know what happens at the end of the story until she gets there, not long before you get there with her. Each week she’ll bring you the latest chapter, so it’s important to listen in, starting with Episode 1. New episodes are released on Thursday mornings.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Stuff You Missed in History Class

What’s the story of Louisa May Alcott? Who were some other notable members of the Alcott family? Join Holly and Tracy as they bring you the greatest and strangest Stuff You Missed In History Class in this podcast by HowStuffWorks.com.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Stuff You Should Know

How do landfills work? How do mosquitos work? Join Josh and Chuck as they explore the Stuff You Should Know about everything from genes to the Galapagos in this podcast from HowStuffWorks.com.

Highlights

Listen

TEDTalks

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. On this feed, you’ll find TEDTalks video to inspire, intrigue and stir the imagination from some of the world’s leading thinkers and doers, speaking from the stage at TED conferences, TEDx events and partner events around the world. This podcast is also available in high-def video and audio-only formats.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

This American Life

This American Life is a weekly public radio show, heard by 2.2 million people on more than 500 stations. Another 1.5 million people download the weekly podcast. It is hosted by Ira Glass, produced in collaboration with Chicago Public Media, delivered to stations by PRX The Public Radio Exchange, and has won all of the major broadcasting awards.

Highlights

Listen

Tim and Sid

Tim Micallef and Sid Seixeiro debate the hot-button issues from the world of sports. They also talk about other stuff. Cool stuff.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Vinyl Cafe Stories from CBC Radio

CBC Radio presents the stories and misadventures of Dave, the owner of the “Vinyl Cafe”, the world’s smallest record store, where the motto is “We may not be big, but we’re small.” The show also features Dave’s wife, Morley, their two children, Sam and Stephanie and assorted friends and neighbours.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

Welcome to Night Vale

Twice-monthly community updates for the small desert town of Night Vale, featuring local weather, news, announcements from the Sheriff’s Secret Police, mysterious lights in the night sky, dark hooded figures with unknowable powers, and cultural events. Turn on your radio and hide. Welcome to Night Vale. Produced by Night Vale Presents. Written by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor. Narrated by Cecil Baldwin.

Highlights

Which episode should I listen to first? Let me know on Twitter!

Listen

WTF with Marc Maron Podcast

Comedian Marc Maron is tackling the most complex philosophical question of our day — WTF? He’ll get to the bottom of it with help from comedian friends, celebrity guests and the voices in his own head.

Highlights

Listen

--

--