A Transatlantic Journey

Jack Needham
Sanctuary
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2020

A conversation with Laura Try, endurance athlete, and transatlantic rower.

Laura Try is an adventurer, endurance athlete, and transatlantic rower. But things weren't always like this. We spoke to Laura about her journey, challenges, and how to punch through your own obstacles.

Message from Laura

I spent most of my childhood dancing, with the dream of one day becoming a professional dancer. Sadly, finance in the family was low which meant I couldn’t go to a professional dance school, so I gave up on that idea aged 16. (If only I knew then what I know now).

As a youngster, I wasn’t ‘outdoorsy’ at all. I didn’t know how to climb trees and never went camping. In fact, the first time I went camping was when I was 28, and I only went because I fancied the guy who invited me.

In my early twenties, I opened my own beauty salon. Most of the time I was caked in makeup, wearing designer dresses and high heels. I earnt a load of money which I didn’t know what to do with so spent it on things!

When I hit thirty, I had some kind of early mid-life crisis, realising I wasn’t doing what I wanted with my life. I had accumulated so much stuff; designer clothes, technology, furniture, and this stuff wasn’t making me happy.
What I really wanted was to be able to hike up mountains, run through the countryside, and do the cool adventures I’d seen on TV.

So, in 2015 I ditched my ‘old’ existence as a successful beauty salon owner and went on the hunt for life with more spirit and adventure. I sold most of my belongings and discovered I’m happier living with fewer things and more experiences.

Join our community here --> https://community.livitay.com/

--

--

Jack Needham
Sanctuary
Editor for

Co-founder of Livitay. Striving to make people happier :)