Meet Kay, founder of Leafage: on a mission to bring the outside in

Sanctuary
Sanctuary
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2021

As we spend more time indoors this month, it might be frustrating not to feel connected with nature and the outdoors, and some might even feel a lack of tactile perception. Kay’s mission is to lift our spirits by creating mini gardens inside glass containers. Follow on as she explains the huge benefits of making terrariums at work, especially in the middle of a lockdown.

Image source Enterprise Nation

Hi Kay, it’s lovely to have you here. Could you tell us a little more about yourself and what you do?

Hey, I’m Kay the founder of a London based Terrarium brand, Leafage. We help connect people with nature through our hands-on workshops, DIY kits and other curated products, all dedicated to bringing the outside in. Leafage is driven by a single purpose — to inspire inner growth by nurturing through nature.

A terrarium is a miniature garden that mimics real landscapes inside a glass vessel. It’s low-maintenance. It’s good looking. It’s good for our wellbeing!

Can you tell us about the journey you’ve been on to set up Leafage?

I attended a Buddhism meditation retreat after a sudden loss of my father back in 2016. It was my way of dealing with grief and learning to cope with uncertainty. I also found myself being drawn to nature. I love that no matter what happens the trees are still growing, the sun is always rising and setting. When everything stops, nature keeps going.

I wanted to start a project that would bring people on a journey to reconnect, recharge and rediscover something new through nature.

How do you feel Leafage has evolved since you first started? What about you personally, can you tell us what you’ve learnt over the years?

Over the years, I feel the message that we promote at Leafage, putting our wellbeing first, is something that a lot of people can relate to. People are always searching for happiness, me included.

We launched our virtual workshops during the lockdown which helps connect friends and family and team members together during the social isolation. I’m glad that we are still able to bring people together to engage and learn something new although it’s only virtually at the moment.

Personally, I am grateful to be doing Leafage full-time now. I work with great people who make work fun and meaningful. Building a business from the ground up taught me to be more curious, resilient and disciplined which set a good life foundation!

Why do you feel that using our hands and making terrariums could help with our mental health?

Nowadays I feel that we’re so easily distracted by social media, the news and stuff at work... Doing something with your own hands and making a terrarium gives you an opportunity to pause and make time for yourself even if it’s just for an hour. It’s good for our mind to take a break and focus on something that’s right in front of us. Having some greenery also boosts our productivity and creativity :)

It’s been a challenging past few months, to say the least, how have you been coping with the constant changes? What are your self-care go-to tips?

I’ve learned to go with the flow a bit more. I also try to see every challenge as an opportunity. Change can be scary but sometimes it’s a start of something that we keep pushing off because our fear has been holding us back. A tiny change in mindset is my way of coping with constant changes and uncertainty.

I also go on my morning run twice a week to get fresh air and keep my body moving, break that routine of working from home, you know. I’m mindful of what I consume… and I also leave my phone out of my bedroom for over a year now, best decision ever!

Follow Leafage on social media:
👉 Instagram @weareleafage
👉 Website weareleafage.com
👉 LinkedIn

On the Livitay App, you can find lots of useful advice for a more productive and mindful workday. Check out our website to find out more about our app and how our programmes can help your employees 👉 www.livitay.com

--

--

Sanctuary
Sanctuary

On a mission to improve our generations enjoyment of life through a healthier and happier workplace.