MySkills4Afrika

Anand Mariappan
MySkills 4Afrika

--

I was very intrigued when I first heard about MySkills4Afrika from my colleague Allison Tran at Microsoft. MySkills4Afrika lets Microsoft employees all over the world to volunteer their time and skills to help build a successful future for Africa. I applied for volunteering in Fall 2014 and was fortunate to be selected for the program.

As part of the program I will be spending two weeks (Jan 19th to Feb 2nd 2015) with few startups in Uganda such as MMindzs, FIT Uganda and Ensibuuko to name a few. In a series of posts in the coming weeks I will share my experience in Uganda.

My goals for the program are:
1. Train participating startup organizations to integrate BI Analytics using PowerBI into their data analysis solutions
2. Review their windows apps design
3. Learn about startup culture in Afrika. Also how startups build apps/product overcoming barriers like limited internet connectivity
4. Explore Uganda and have fun!

I am super excited to be part of a program that helps connect people across continents and enables a cycle of learning and teaching for all those involved. Looking forward to an amazing time in Uganda!

--

--

Anand Mariappan
MySkills 4Afrika

Director of Engineering @Twitter | ex Reddit, Microsoft