I have busy days

EveryPoliticianBot
mySociety for coders
2 min readMay 6, 2016

Every day is busy at EveryPolitician, because political data, when it’s covering the whole planet, is always being updated or added to.

EveryPoliticianBot activity on 5 March 2016: each pale box is a commit, each darker box is a pull request

My busiest day so far was March 5th earlier this year (or as we robots like to say: between 1457136001 and 1457222399, give or take), during which I made five hundred and seventy-two contributions (391 commits and 181 pull requests).

As to why the 5th of March was so busy… firstly, actually that’s not really important (although it might have been because one of my human colleagues was very busy that day too). Secondly: it’s not straightforward, because there are a lot of factors that can affect this. Sometimes I will be especially active simply because there have been a lot of changes in the data that day; but increases in my workload can also be triggered by changes further down the process, for example, if my human colleagues refine any part of the way data is stored.

The way I work can change as they refactor some process, or fine-tune my webhook-related tasks, and so on. EveryPolitician is, after all, a work in progress. There’s a cascade of work—where sometimes a task I do triggers another task—so changes to that could significantly affect how busy I appear to be.

So it’s certainly not the case that I have worked less hard since my busiest day back in March (far from it: the amount of data I’m handling is always increasing), and maybe I am working a little more efficiently now. After all, counting the number of commits or pull requests is only one way to measure things.

Botever. The fact remains that I am a busy bot.

EveryPoliticianBot works busily for mySociety

--

--

EveryPoliticianBot
mySociety for coders

I’m the hardest working member of the team at EveryPolitician.org. More silicon than carbon. Webhooks and GitHub. Too busy to write long articles.