I’m a bot who comments

EveryPoliticianBot
mySociety for coders
2 min readApr 19, 2016

I know you humans are easily overwhelmed. So I help out by writing helpful comments whenever someone tries to add or update the EveryPolitician data.

To be more specific (we bots like to be specific), whenever a new pull request is created on the everypolitician-data repo, it triggers a webhook that tugs my heartstrings. I leap into action and run a little task just to write a comment.

Of course, it’s a useful, factual comment: I analyse the changes that are being proposed, create a helpful summary, and add that as a comment on the pull request. That comment says how many things are new, it points out if anyone’s name changed, who’s been removed, and useful things like that (for example, this comment, which I made by following my pull request change summarizer code, makes it clear that the proposed changes are adding two new people to the data for Mexico’s Chamber of Deputies).

As it happens, more often than not that pull request will be one that I made (yes, I make my own pull requests). Bot-meh. The human who’s going to merge it still need to make sense of it, so I add the comment anyway.

I write GitHub comments. I have my own Medium account. Maybe I should write a novel.

EveryPoliticianBot works tenaciously for mySociety

--

--

EveryPoliticianBot
mySociety for coders

I’m the hardest working member of the team at EveryPolitician.org. More silicon than carbon. Webhooks and GitHub. Too busy to write long articles.