Are You an Empathic Personality Type?

Me too. Here’s how I learned to cope with a friendly energy vampire

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

--

An empath peeks out from behind a large plant
Photograph by Andre Areias, Pexels

It’s five o’clock, and I’m rushing through traffic to the bus station to pick up a friend. She’s an old school pal, and we’ve been chums since we were 14. I’m looking forward to seeing her, but I’m also anxious. You might think my anxiety stems from getting stuck in rush hour. Realistically, though, I’m suffering from anticipatory stress.

You see, I know what will happen once the weekend with my pal begins. It’s always the same. She’s an energy taker, and I’m an empath, an ideal combination for her. Not for me, though.

Why would I spend time with somebody who I know steals my vital energy, leaving me drained? It’s not a lack of self-esteem, ignorance, or anything negative that makes me a loyal pal. My energy-thieving friend isn’t a psychopathic narcissist like we’re told vampires are. She has a kind heart and always means well. She has no idea she sucks the life out of me every time she visits.

Of course, since I’ve recognized the problem, this time, I’m armed with ideas to keep me safe and happy.

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber