Everything Else Is Corrupted by That Veil

Can we keep art out of it?

Lana
Mystic Minds

--

Photo by Nina Mercado on Unsplash

When I was twelve years old, I wanted to join the choir because I loved singing- I don’t think I was great at singing, but I loved to sing. It brought out something in me, and I felt alive after singing loudly with passion on the balcony of my house.

I used to have images of me singing in a concert, like Maria Carrie or some famous singer, and everyone was clapping — the mood around electrifying. I also wanted to join the choir because all the popular girls in school -my frenemies were in the choir, and I wanted to be with them and show them that I was as good as them.

Luck had it that day when I went for the choir practice at 5 p.m. Mrs E, the choirmaster decided that too many kids wanted to join the choir, and she wanted to spruce them up. So she told all the new joiners and those she thought weren’t good at singing to sing a solo in front of the group. I was one of the new joiners.

My heart sank because I was a shy and conscious child. I was not used to the spotlight, and here I was with all the popular girls who were already choir girls. I did what I did best as I could- and then other new joiners did their piece. Then Mrs. E sat in her judgment seat and told me I do not ‘sing’ well and could not join the choir. I walked out crushed, defeated, and…

--

--

Lana
Mystic Minds

I am a Finance Professional during the day and a writer at night. For nuggets of inspiration, join my newsletter-https://lanagoes.substack.com/