Spirituality

How to Have a Meaningful Spiritual Practice

An in-depth exploration of the positive qualities you should seek in your personal development.

Emmarie Hodge
Mystic Minds
Published in
8 min readMay 13, 2021

--

Indian woman meditating in a forest
Image by KarinaCarvalho from Pixabay

Spirituality is good for you.

This is something I didn’t understand until I was in my twenties. I have a unique family history when it comes to religion: my parents, my grandparents, and possibly even my great-grandparents weren’t spiritual people and never spoke about their religious beliefs with any certainty.

Because of this, I grew up without any spiritual practices. This left a hole in my life that I wasn’t even aware existed for years.

You need spirituality like you need breathing, and I was gasping for breath for most of my young life.

Numerous studies have shown that those who have a spiritual practice fare better in life than those who don’t, especially if there’s a social component to their spirituality. It promotes mental wellness and community cohesion.

But don’t think that religion is just a philosophy or belief in an ethereal being like I did — it’s much deeper and more fulfilling than that.

Your Life Needs a Spiritual Narrative

--

--

Emmarie Hodge
Mystic Minds

I write interactive tarot readings here on Medium 🔮 Check out me out elsewhere on the web: https://emmariehodge.com/social-media/