Religion vs Spirituality: Two Separate Paths to a Higher Power

And what happens when the two paths merge

Kimberly Fosu
Mystic Minds

--

Mila Okta Safitri

The conflation of religious and spiritual beliefs is frustrating to me as someone who believes and loves God with all that I am. It’s exhausting when the two paths merge and you’re caught standing in between.

All I want to do is seek God and find the truth but it seems impossible to be able to freely do that when the world seems confused about their many religions and ungrounded in their various spiritualities and so tries to restrict and limit what one can do or say just so they are not offended or shaken in their beliefs. It’s frustrating.

Although I grew up in a religious household, I drifted apart from religion when I felt that I was not able to connect more intimately with God, which is why I have always been intrigued by the concept of spirituality.

Religion and spirituality are confused and intertwined because both refer to a transcendent force or higher power that guides and supports humans. This confusion might be due to the fact that certain religions incorporate spirituality in their teachings. People may see religion as a way to express their spiritual beliefs and connect to a higher power and certain spiritualities are influenced by religious teachings yet seen as a way to connect…

--

--

Kimberly Fosu
Mystic Minds

Spiritual life coach focused on spirituality, faith and inspiration. My new book "Who Am I?" is available on Amazon now. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CW1BMHLY