Spiritual Practices Are Ways of Being Not Part-Time Pursuits

Learning this now will save you time

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

--

People engage in the spiritual practice of sound bathing
Photograph by Antoni Shkraba, Pexels

When I began to adopt spiritual practices like meditation, breathwork, and chi-gong, I saw them each as a means to an end. That’s not to say I didn’t love doing them. I enjoyed the serenity and calm I felt when meditating under a tree. Taking deep breaths while out in nature exhilarated me, and I relished increasing my energy flow while practicing chi-gong. However, I later learned that these and other practices were part of a bigger picture. They weren’t part-time pursuits, after all. They were tools to help me learn how to live spiritually full-time.

I found a documentary about monks online and marveled at the men’s spiritual presence on screen and the ability to watch them. Years ago, I would have had to pack my bags and travel to Tibet or some other place where spiritually advanced practices existed before I was privy to ancient teachings. Now, I could Google “spiritual practices” or “how to meditate” and take online lessons.

Likewise, I listened to spiritual podcasts by master practitioners, watched lectures on YouTube, and had the option to partake in Zoom calls with advanced wisdom keepers. With such knowledge at my fingertips, it was unsurprising that I learned how to achieve states of spiritual bliss, calm my mind, and…

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber