Take Me to the River to Learn

6 soulful life lessons from Mother Nature

Carmellita
Mystic Minds

--

Image by Author. Generated in Playground

“Oh, now look, your Auntie learned something new today too,” I said smiling at my nephew on the screen of my phone.

He flashed back a smile that warmed my heart. “Thanks for helping me with my science project, Tete. I think I have everything I need.”

“Happy to help. If there’s anything else, just call me back and I’ll see what I can do,” I promised.

He nodded as we ended the “meeting.”

After helping my nephew with his science project on climate change, I ran across a few interesting facts about rivers and rocks in an interdisciplinary community for early career researchers in various fields of science.

The site was called SciSnack and here’s the passage that piqued my curiosity:

Stones and large rocks often scatter across riverbeds, some protruding above the surface, and some below. If you pay close attention you will see that the water reacts in different ways as it flows past each of these obstacles. The shape, size and depth of the rocks along with the speed of the river determines the patterns that we see downstream. — Mathew Stiller-Reeve

Fascinated by these concepts, I joyfully traveled down a rabbit hole.

--

--

Carmellita
Mystic Minds

Writer, Poet, Storyteller, & Scholar. Co-founder of http://bluelotusliving.com. BA in Speech Communication. Former ghostwriter who came back to life.