The Art of Not Responding When Someone Treads on Your Toes

Not saying much is challenging

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

--

A woman dances barefoot.
Photo by Diah Ayu on Unsplash

Oh, isn’t it a challenge when someone treads on your toes? Not those in your shoes. I’m talking about the ones attached to your Achilles heel, or weak spot. Everyone has a sore spot, and I’ve just uncovered one of mine.

I have to remind myself that unearthing our foibles is akin to uncovering treasure. When we work on them, we embark on spiritual growth. It’s just like dusting off gems hidden in a dirty chest, only more difficult.

It all began when I realized that the wise sage doesn’t say much. That’s because true power comes from only speaking when you’ve something important to impart. At times, we fill in conversational gaps with unnecessary data, and saying less is more effective than rambling.

Realistically, becoming sage-like and staying silent, however, is harder than recognizing it’s a good idea.

Let me tell you about Brin since he’s a fantastic example of somebody with this sage-like ability not to say too much. Brin is one of the wisest people I know. You can trust him, and he’ll never give you bad advice. You can spend time in his company when you’ve got a problem and come away feeling like new.

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber
Mystic Minds

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber