The World Needs More People Like You and Less People Like Me

How much of your humanity do you have left?

Jessey Anthony
Mystic Minds

--

Why Being Selfless Matters Now More Than Ever
Image by freepik

“Not today, Lorisa. I’m too tired to go anywhere. Let’s go tomorrow.”

“Alright. See you tomorrow.” Lorisa said and hung up the phone.

I made a quick smoothie with strawberries, pineapple, and apple. This is my go-to for energy boosting. Shortly after, I drifted into a long sleep. I woke up in the middle of the night, around 2 am feeling hungry.

I checked the fridge for leftovers. I had nothing to eat. But I had bread, raw egg, and milk. I had run out of groceries. I didn’t have the strength to cook so I ate bread and juice and went back to sleep.

I have gotten used to this. I barely have leftovers and I often run out of groceries because I shop a few items weekly so if I make an unexpected trip out of town I won’t leave food rotting in my fridge.

Sometimes, I get busy and unable to cook a thing and some vegetables end up rotten and thrown away. But the hunger was the least of my problems.

Lorisa and I have agreed to take some of our used wear and food items to a homeless shelter. It’s been over a month since we made this plan but I was yet to sort out the things I would give away.

--

--

Jessey Anthony
Mystic Minds

Motivational speaker, fitness enthusiast, and self-improvement nerd. See how I stay fit and confident: bit.ly/3j0Lm9Z