Why Is Everyone So Obsessed With Science These Days?

A response to the angry mob that screams ‘I believe in science!’

Emily Jennings
Mystic Minds
Published in
6 min readDec 27, 2020

--

A woman looking into a telescope
Photo by JJ Jordan on Unsplash

What’s so great about science anyway? There are other ways to have knowledge.

Fair warning, reader: this post has no links to scientific studies and nothing here is science-based. I’ve been told this makes a bad piece of writing on Medium. I’m ready to deal with the consequences.

I also want to get this out of the way: I am not a climate change denier or an anti-vaxxer. I am somewhere in the middle ground between extremes. I have a master’s degree in philosophy, so perhaps that will redeem me enough to keep some of you reading further. I have academic proof that I’m good at thinking, and I’ve studied great thinkers.

And that’s what I’m here to talk about. Sometimes science can’t explain everything. I like to describe philosophy (specifically, metaphysics — my favorite branch of philosophy) as ‘the study of reality where science can’t go.’ Recently I’ve also learned that there are ways to know reality through intuition, and though science cannot prove or refute this knowledge, it is as real as any we get from studying via the scientific method.

--

--

Emily Jennings
Mystic Minds

I am here to confirm you're not crazy. Your life has meaning and nothing is an accident. | IG: @wellness_oneness | www.wellnessoneness.com