My World View Always Changes After Yoga

But it amazes me how anxiety makes me second-guess my need for the anxiety antidote

Jim Moore
Mystic Minds
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2023

--

Ready for yoga, but second guessing. Should I go? (Image by Jim Moore)

Just before my yoga class today, I was drowning in anxiety.

It’s not the first time I’ve doubted whether I should attend yoga class while I’m feeling anxious. The anxious part of me hesitates and questions if it might be better to power through some more work instead of going to do yoga.

For decades, I read stacks and stacks of personal development and self-help books. I scribbled notes and passionately discussed the ideas with others. However, despite my best efforts, I didn’t feel like I made lasting changes.

Even when there were improvements, I downplayed them and dwelled on any frustration.

Why?

Because I didn’t understand how my body’s emotional chemistry remained fixated on life’s frustrations.

Where Did My Frustration Stem From Anyway?

This is where things get interesting.

My continuous negative rumination though out my lifetime, as I’ve discovered, stemmed from unspoken resentments rooted in past relationships with individuals who were classic toxic narcissists.

--

--

Jim Moore
Mystic Minds

Author, Editor for LearnAIforProfit - Teaching Yoga Instructors use AI Tools To Earn Passive Income. I Help People Heal and Thrive.