I Don’t Understand Why People Think You Need a Guru

When the student is ready, the teacher will appear

Emily Jennings
Mystic Minds

--

Image created using Canva

There are a lot of gatekeepers in the realm of spirituality. I am shocked how many times I’ve seen or heard someone say “you shouldn’t try this technique without a master” when talking about meditation, contacting other planes of existence, astral travel, ascension, or whatever. This is ridiculous. For one thing, someone in human history must have been the first to try it, and they didn’t have a master. That’s how this all started. They’re fine and you will be fine too.

There are a few more things that really bother me about the fact that many spiritual people try to enforce this guru-devotee relationship. Spirituality is a really personal experience to me, so I have yet to walk the path of a true student except in studying on my own. When I was in middle school I went to the public library often and checked out books about astrology, witchcraft, Buddhism, the Beatles in their spiritual journey, you name it. I learned a lot on my own and that’s been my way for all these years. I don’t think I trust anyone who says that this way doesn’t work because it’s worked for me perfectly so far.

However, I also trust that “when the student is ready the teacher will appear,” as the proverb goes.

--

--

Emily Jennings
Mystic Minds

Meditation Teacher, Psychic, and Twin Flame Coach exploring Consciousness, Oneness, and Spiritual Humor | IG: @wellness_oneness | www.wellnessoneness.com