You Don't Truly Understand the Meaning of Beauty

It eludes you because you try to capture her without being fully present

Prajakta
Mystic Minds
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2020

--

Photo by Author

The days I wake up feeling beautiful turn out to be the most joyous of days, much more than the others.

Although I don’t work in the beauty industry or create art for a living, the pursuit of beauty is the undertone in so many decisions I make throughout the day.

Whether it's crafting that perfect title for a poem, building a watertight argument, decorating a little corner in my house, or even choosing to add a little bouquet to my grocery basket. Beauty is central to human pursuits.

I’ve also observed that most people pursue beauty in some form, knowingly or unknowingly. It’s human nature. However, we know very little about our reasons for doing so or what beauty even is.

There is beauty that is stunning. And then there is beauty that leaves a lingering imprint on the soul without disturbing its peacefulness.

Does Beauty Equal Pretty?

Not many are able to articulate the precise effect beautiful things, people, and experiences have on them. Overall, appreciation of beauty is a…

--

--

Prajakta
Mystic Minds

Harvard + LSE economist, meditator, and author of “Buddha Balance Journal”. Thank you for reading my thoughts-in-progress. Substack: https://bit.ly/3XX5Sid