You Have a Calling and a Distraction

Not knowing your calling may be a distraction

Kimberly Fosu
Mystic Minds

--

Photo by omid bonyadian on Unsplash

I have a calling and several distractions. Fear is the biggest of them all. Doubt is also one of them. The doubt that I can't be who I’m called to be. Fear allows doubt to whisper in my ears, “Forget this calling of yours and get your head out of the clouds.” It tells me to forget my calling and get a stable job instead. But “getting a job” is also another distraction to my calling.

I've gone through life with a clear sense, sometimes nagging feeling that I’m not living up to my full potential. An understanding that there’s more to life than just getting a job, getting married, having kids, and saving enough money for a comfortable retirement. I have a sense there is a way bigger purpose for me.

My calling and my distractions grow stronger each day. They both keep me up at night.

It is the tug on your soul

I thought finding my purpose meant discovering some great calling or doing important things in the world like Mother Teresa and Martin Luther King, Jr. did. Fear tells me I’m no Mother Teresa, and Martin Luther King is too great of a man to compare.

--

--

Kimberly Fosu
Mystic Minds

Spiritual life coach focused on spirituality, faith and inspiration. My new book "Who Am I?" is available on Amazon now. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CW1BMHLY