UX Portfolio Therapy

Brittany Crocker
MyTake
Published in
6 min readSep 20, 2019

--

Just a little over the halfway mark into my 10-week immersive UX Design course & it was finally time to start creating our coveted portfolios.

:: Insert angelic choir noises here::

We are told that it’s going to be an emotional roller coaster, (like it wasn’t before now?) & given a hasty week deadline to complete our initial versions. The method behind the madness is learning to throw out good ideas for the sake of delivering an MVP.

I’m stoked. I have investigated a plethora of portfolios, marveling at the designer’s branding styles which let me get a unique feel for their vibe.

Now it’s my turn. Who am I & what does a visual representation of myself feel & look like to everyone else?….F&#K, we’re going to have to get meta, aren’t we?

Tasked with making a mood board, I hopped on Dribbble looking for eye candy & color palettes that stimulated my soul. I felt like the equivalent of trying to find a match on a dating app.

There was endless scrolling. You favorite a few images (even if they are out of your league). Compare & figure out if it’s worth pursuing for a date or in my case, moving forward with a monogamous color scheme.

Much like real life, I never had much luck with those platforms. However, I was able to screenshot a few color palettes, put them all together, then organize them by correlation.

Yes, I had affinity mapped my colors without realizing it- so UX of me. This color scheme is what I ended up with using this method:

When I compiled my findings, I sat back and noticed the trends. I was drawn to nude lipstick shades which mimicked a variety of skin tones. Muted colors are currently having their moment in the spotlight. So it’s not surprising they would be heavily used in the majority of work being produced.

But was there really pink in MY palette? & not just one shade but a variety? Now I know my name’s Brittany, but I have tried to steer away from the stigma of having this name for years. (Very blonde, but not very smart)

After seeing all these feminine/soft colors, I was left scratching my head, confused as to how they were even remotely close to being associated with me. I think there’s a big difference between liking good design vs. it speaking to you. It was the final dusty rose nail in the coffin. I was scrapping these palettes- it just wasn’t me.

So if this isn’t me, then what is? Cue in-depth physiological reflecting process.

To give you some insight, I come from a humble background, growing up in a neighborhood where you have to eat or be eaten. That lifestyle taught me to be incredibly resilient, agile, & quick on my feet. But more importantly, it taught me that if I wanted anything to be different, I would have to be an advocate for myself & be that catalyst for change.

So it’s no coincidence that my motto in life is to KILL EVERYTHING. Coined from Flag Nor Fail’s CEO & Founder, Rob Bailey, it resonates with me on so many levels. To me, it means to be the very best at everything you put your energy into. So If I’m going to make this portfolio rise above the standard, then I’m going to put in the time & hard work to make it happen. I’m going to KILL IT.

The week flew by as I did precisely that. I invested 12+hours a day into my website, dealing with the struggles of Squarespace, creating custom graphics, utilizing mockups, & allowing myself to be in the moment during the whole process. I ebbed & flowed between feeling a certain sense of strength, vulnerability, anxiety, & sometimes all three mixed into one.

All this time & effort I was putting in, but was I getting it right?

I chose to stick with my aggressive theme of KILL EVERYTHING. I lightened the feel by including flora & fauna elements that embodied the message but also paid homage to Texas, the state I call home. Another nod was made to the lone star state, by choosing West Texas warm tones of sun-scorched tumbleweeds & desert sands. Lastly, my copywriting played on my predator nature using phrases like “ I don’t bite” or “ No need to hunt me down.”

When it was time to present, I felt solid on explaining my design choices to the group. All was going well… that was until I got to the About section.

It is incredibly personal, but relating heavily into why I transitioned into UX. I felt it was necessary to help guests & potential recruiters understand what drives me as an individual. To not only talk the talk but to be able to walk it too.

As I pulled up the page, I began to explain my background. How my father is a high school dropout & my mother worked 2–3 jobs to provide for our family. My parents did the best they could for what they knew, but the bar for me was set considerably low. The only rules given to “make it” through life where don’t get pregnant before you get married, don’t go to jail, & don’t do hard drugs.

I had no idea what success even looked like, let alone how to attain it. Needless to say, I’ve been through the gauntlet of trials & errors, having lived enough for three lifetimes. All of these traumas, for the sake of trying to navigate my path in life, in pursuit of happiness.

It was no surprise that during this part of the speech, my voice began to choke as I fought back the tears welling up in my eyes. I started to feel embarrassed at the amount of vulnerability I was showcasing to my fellow peers, but I had no control over the surge of release that followed.

Words are powerful, but the emotions behind those words have the ability to move mountains, start wars, or at the very least, heal this fragile soul.

In UX, we use copywriting skills to set the tone of a product. Words are used to invoke emotions and bring forth the commonalities amongst us as humans. We can be playful, serious, dramatic, & inspiring, building on the atmosphere we’ve created.

I want people to know I am more than a victim of my past, that my personal experiences haven’t made me cold or closed off to the world. In fact, the exact opposite, my upbringing has shown me compassion for others. It allows me to have deep-felt connections with those I interact with, aspiring me to support others with their needs.

It also shows that after years of persistence & dedication, my hard work has paid off & I can now call myself a UX/UI designer. I get to use my creativity, empathy, & problem-solving skills to meet the needs of both the user & the business. I genuinely believe I have found my calling, where I am no longer merely surviving — I am flourishing.

Do you have a story to tell behind building your portfolio? I’d love to hear it. Message me on Linkedin or connect with me on Twitter.

Want to see the portfolio that launched this article? Visit www.brittanycrocker.com

I’m always looking for feedback, & as always, thank you for reading.

-Brittany C.

--

--

Brittany Crocker
MyTake

“Hi! My name is Brittany Crocker & I’m a UX Designer!” Current ATX 🌵resident Foodie fanatic, coffee addict and 5'10" mountain of tattoo’d badass’ery.