I Flew the Boeing Max 9 and Didn’t Die

Art Saborio Horror Author
Myth, Legend or Fact?
4 min readApr 21, 2024

I am sure you heard all the news, read all the stories, and listened to all those who are experts, designers, engineers, and whatnot concerning the Boeing Max 9.

There are even those who will refuse to fly on a Max, opting to wait for an older Boeing or Airbus before accepting their flying fate.

Everyone to their own and there is nothing wrong with what the experts say or how fliers protect themselves from what they feel is a dangerous situation.

This is my story…

I travel, and I travel often. I travel for both work and pleasure. I’ve had the privilege to fly on all kinds of different model commercial craft. Yet, I never got a chance to fly the Concord, it retired before I had a reason to fly to Europe. Yet I would have loved to experience it. Perhaps in the future supersonic travel will make a comeback.

I recently flew to Mexico on a Boeing Max 9. This was not my first Max plane, and it will not be my last. I have flown economy and first class many times.

My first impressions of walking onto the plane had to do with the additional space in the cabin. It is wider. The seats are more comfortable and it has that “new car smell.” Stepping into the fresh, new, white interior of the Boeing Max is a treat after flying decades-old 737s, 757s, 747s, and 777s.

I found that boarding the wider Max is faster because people can pass each other in the aisle avoiding a backup.

The plane’s engines have a different sound than the older Boeings and the interior engine noise is noticeably quieter. From my understanding, the engines are larger and the improved interior decibels could be from an improvement in the engine fan design versus interior noise suppression.

During taxing and take, the plane feels sturdy and there are fewer bumps and swaying than I normally experience on older planes.

Coming around to the end of the runway the Max 9 easily centers itself and begins the process of powering up the engines. The Max immediately responds and is eager to get off the ground.

It takes the increase in power with stride and quickly gets off the ground. It is obvious to me that the Boeing was made for passenger comfort as it handles turbulence with elegance instead of abruptness. At a ceiling of 33,000 feet, it reaches its cruising speed.

Depending on the airline, first-class meals and alcoholic drinks are a treat. The seat trays come out across the seat and can be positioned to fit a laptop. There is a solid metal bar in the back of the seat in front of you and can be used to hang a laptop, or iPad or to hold on to.

The landing on the Boeing Max is smooth and uneventful. It handles the reentry well, with strong braking and aid from the reverse engines.

I have read all the stories and listened to the experts about the plane, but this is my opinion. I think all planes have problems. Some have design issues, and some are just too old to keep flying. Yet it is the expertise and the years of knowledge of the ground engineers for the airlines, that make all the difference.

Many airlines have had zero issues with their Boeing planes, and then others have had an abnormal number of problems. Some of those problems stem from the design of the planes, but eighty percent of problems stems from how well planes are maintained per the recommendations from the FFA and manufacturer.

For the number of times I have flown on a Boeing Max, I have never experienced an issue and will continue to fly them. And if you are wondering. I fly Alaska Airlines when I can. I have experienced issues on older 737s some frightening and some not, and smaller aircraft. Never on a Max.

Maybe my odds are better than others, or maybe the engineers who maintain the planes for some airlines, know their planes intimately and can make the adjustments, repairs, and ground a plane when it is not ready to fly.

Manufacturers and airlines need to keep in mind that safety is always more important than the bottom line of profit. There is a saying in Quality, “Pay me know, or pay me at the end.” This means fixing the problems now before the product is released. Or pay me later when the problem is discovered, and a company’s reputation and bottom line are seriously impacted.

This is my opinion and in no way discounts the experts, other fliers, or anyone else who has had their own opinion on the Boeing Max. I will continue to fly it until something newer and more exciting reaches for the skies.

I am a paranormal and horror author. Get early access to new books, short stories, and videos.

Follow me here: https://hello.asaborio.com/welcome to stay up to date. Plus, get a free paranormal/horror full-length book when you follow.

--

--

Art Saborio Horror Author
Myth, Legend or Fact?

Art Saborio is a Paranormal and Horror writer living in the Southwest of the U.S.A. His love for the paranormal/horror started with Stephen King’s paperbacks.