Rant Of Chrysaor

Son of Medusa, the wronged

Sandhya Ganesh
Myth Manor
2 min readSep 18, 2020

--

Birth of Chrysaor and Pegasus, beheaded Medusa, Perseus, and the Gorgons, Athenian black-figure pyxis C6th B.C., Musée du Louvre

My blood boils. My entire body is seething with anger. How can I remain quiet? How can I stay silent, thinking about the unjust done unto my mother? Cursed to be unsightly for the crime she did not commit. Abhorred by the mortals, gods, and time alike. Why? Because she was raped?

You say she was consorting with Poseidon. You say she besmirched your altar. But did she, willingly? Was she not a priestess under your protection? Because she was coveted, she gets scourged? What about the man? What about Poseidon, he who defiled Dementor, my mother, and others like?

Despite all the disgrace, she remained hidden from the sight of mortals, to prevent them from getting turned to stone. But did they leave her alone? No! They had to come and provoke her and called her monster when she accidentally turned them to stone. Did you think it went unnoticed? I was inside her, hearing everything, hearkening her cries of anguish, the crackling of spreading stones of her victims. They deserved it, I would say. Why try to kill my hapless mother when what she wanted was peace?

Perseus? Bah! I would say he absolved my mother of her mortal pains. My brother, Pegasus, and I were able to come outside only after our mother’s decapitation. For that, I am thankful. Though, I would still have to kill him for using our mother’s head for his gain. Did he think only he had a mother worth saving?

Don’t get me started on the dumb, horse-headed, winged brother of mine (I know he is a horse, no need to point it out). No sense of responsibility. Flew away the second we came out.

Don’t worry, mother. I will avenge you. Enemies will shatter in hordes before the might of my golden sword. For, I am Chrysaor.

--

--

Sandhya Ganesh
Myth Manor

I travel beyond yonder yet my reflections stay behind.