Final Conversation: A Wedding Song (with the Iliad, Geryoneis and Homeric Hymn to Demeter)

Zinuo A Shi
Mythology Journal
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2024
Orpheus and Eurydice (1862) by Edward Poynter
Orpheus and Eurydice (1862) by Edward Poynter

Final Conversation

A Wedding Song

Epigram

To what, O beloved bridegroom, may I compare to you?

To a slender sapling, most of all, do I compare you

(Sappho 115)

Be strong, saith my heart:

For I am a soldier; I have seen worse sights than this

( Iliad, Book 11)

Through the shadowy fogs of time

I came from afar with a chorus in song and lyre silent

I am listening with a load recorder and a dried fountain pen

I reached my hand to the void I couldn’t see through

My gaze is your torch in the darkness

I only had stories to offer

And what can I do with them

Not much, just fractured words, puzzling, error-filled

But I hear a myriad of voices surging forth

Tearing up the night from disjointed bodies

Struggling at the brink of memory’s edge and oblivion

I said this was our wedding song

And I shall sing it still

Though my lips stay sealed, only words to be written

Heros and their flowers

They rushed through the lands and the water, with weapons and wounds

Dripping, I gather a poppy soaking in his blood

O Heros, your glory was written by your flesh

With thousands of forgotten names graven on tombstones

I heard the bitter wind through their armours’ weave

And the weeping of his wife, an infant cradled in her arms

I heard the father whisper a wish to his cherished son

Now he is sleeping under six feet of rotting autumn leaves

I felt the body of my beloved collapsing into my dream

I knew it was time to follow them

The gods loomed above, fate trailed behind

Yet we race on, faster and faster

Like a shooting star, leaving a short path of light

A Conversation between the Iliad(Homer), and Memorial(Oswald)

Cleaved flesh and bones

Your eyes, void as a pyre, only my soul ablaze within

Our figures overlapping with one in the camera lens

Your laughter, shards of shattered glass, falling upon volcano’s crest

Falling upon my melting limbs

I heard the sound of my skull cracking

In triumph, you put on your black leather jacket

You raised a glass of wine to freedom and future

I am left trailing in your swift world

And finally, my heads were sinking down

By the hot summer rain, the passionate caress of my lover

I was disappearing into the red breeze of your glory

I see myself resurrecting in you

I am inevitably drawn to you, you are death to me

A conversation between Geryoneis(Stesichorus), and Autobiography of Red (Carson)

Down to the underworld

I was the soul you missed on your way to the underworld

On my way to London, Paris, Rome and Athens

I remembered her promise to her girl

“You shall never suffer again” — I am already in Hades

She was mourning for her tragic daughter

She is mourning for her static life

I was singing with my fragmented body

While the mothers and lovers are still escaping from each other

She must keep her gaze lowered in men’s presence

I lift my head before my bridegroom

I stood firm, while you journeyed onward

I know you await, yet I do not turn

Tis my love that abducted me to the abyss

A conversation between Homeric Hymn to Demeter and Mother Love(Dove)

Epilogue

O my beloved, I saw you for the first time

O my beloved, let this be my last glance

I passed on my voice

My voice resounding in the River Oblivion

When we turned to dust

Our tales will live for us

To immortality

--

--

Zinuo A Shi
Mythology Journal

Photographer, Researcher, Student at Wellesley College'27, Prospective physics and classics double major with a concentration on Philosophy