27

Jonathan Eatherly
Naive Thoughts
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2015

27. Twenty Seven. I sit here now reflecting over this past year in the final moments as I leave 27 and become 28. I remember this time last year declaring that this year, this 27th year of my life would be the year that I became an adult. I would expand myself beyond myself. I would learn about the people around me. Their hopes, dreams, flaws, and beauty. I would throw away the semi-socially awkward shell I had carried for so long. I would take ownership of my humanity with compassion, curiosity, and a unending thirst for the tiny moments shared between two allied souls. These were the things I wanted to get out of my 27th year of life.

Now 28. Twenty Eight. I have no grand statement to make for 28. Maybe it’s because the goals I set out for myself at 27 will forever be goals that move further into the distance as I take steps towards them. Maybe it’s because I don’t know what comes next after this. Or maybe it’s because I’m loving every moment too damn much!

I want to end by saying thank you to all the incredible people I met this 27th year. You shared yourselves with me and I to you. You taught me so much about everything and nothing. I’m so very grateful to have stolen a moment in time with you and I truthfully look forward to our next encounter.

San Francisco

  • Brad, Alex, and Alice at Hawker Fare
  • Michelle at 20th Century Cafe
  • Angie & Ellie at Birba

Costa Rica

  • Blonde hair woman at the Andaz

Stockholm

  • “Solo” at Tweed
  • Wilma at Linje Tio
  • Micky at Bottles

Moscow

  • Daria at Hotel Metropol
  • Nikita and Artyom at City Space
  • Two bartenders at Four Seasons

Paris

  • Maxim at Le Mary Celeste
  • Aussie woman at Ten Belles
  • Ida and Manon at Candelaria
  • Julien at CopperBay

Budapest

  • Girl in red shirt at Butters Bakery
  • Family at Bar Pharma
  • Filipino owner at Barako Káveház
  • Bartender at Blue Fox bar

London

  • English United Airlines desk women

Mexico City

  • Fredrika at Licorería Limantour (Roma)
  • Cute couple at Licorería Limantour (Roma)
  • Romantic bartender at Licorería Limantour (Polanco)
  • Woman bartender from Veracruz at Baltra
  • Filmmaker at Baltra

New York

  • Bartender duo at Grand Salon
  • Somm at Meadowsweet
  • Jillian at Dead Rabbit

Honolulu

  • Annie at REAL

Boston

  • Ezra at Drink

Reykjavik

  • Tasja at Kaffibarinn
  • Eurich at Slippbarinn
  • 17 year old girl at Apotek
  • Eve Online engineer at Prikið
  • Bartender at KOL

Copenhagen

  • Christopher and Yeppa at Ruby

--

--

Jonathan Eatherly
Naive Thoughts

Engineer, Designer, Maker. Building the future of story telling. Novl.co