LIFE LESSONS

Texts, Lies, and Sour Grapes

Because I am such a whine-magnet

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Namaste Now
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2022

--

Photo by Stefano Zocca on Unsplash

Most texts are lies and usually about sour grapes, although the sender will never admit it. Case in point, even people who claim to be friends mostly reserve the whining for yours truly, so much that I often wonder if I am a whine-magnet.

I mean, they’ll be having a good time as evidenced by their updates online, amply supported by photos to prove it. So why rant and complain when they talk to these chosen friends? I’ll never know.

And I don’t want to, thankfully.

What’s amusing is they don’t seem to realize that their online updates are public and visible to the people they whine to, especially when they contradict themselves.

For example, they’ll post about how great something is, and when they text you one on one, insist that what we see of them in public is not the truth.

So why the lies?

I don’t know. Sigh. And I don’t want to know.

I suspect it is often sour grapes because the amount of one-up-ness out there is so crazy. Everyone wants to be better than everyone.

FOMO.

Comparison, that nasty little thief of joy, is always scurrying around to do its dirty…

--

--

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Namaste Now

Publisher, Namaste Now! Writer, all genres. Editor. Poet. Diabetes Warrior. Traveler. Photographer. Hopeful. Wears son's oversized tshirts https://vidyasury.com