Pam Thornton
Name Net Worth
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2017

--

Tip Tuesday — It’s NOT about you!

Folks, you may have heard this before, “Networking is a two-way street!” So, what does that really mean? When we meet with people, it is natural to want to make sure we are getting something out of the meeting. This is so true; our time is valuable! But, I know you have heard, slow and steady wins the race. If you are going to build a long-lasting relationship with someone, you need to focus on the needs of the person you are meeting with and how you can help them. Learn about the person you are talking with, give them something. They will appreciate it and it will be a benefit for you later.

We spend time going to networking events and having follow up meetings with people so we can expand our network, build relationships and potentially increase our business down the road. Some of the worst experiences I have had, have helped me to learn the valuable lesson that, “It’s really not about what someone can do for me. It’s about giving what I can to help them and then it comes back to me, two-fold”.

Here’s one instance that has helped shape me: I was at an event where I didn’t know anyone and when I turned around to get into a group conversation, I was hit with a handshake from one hand and a business card in the other. I was really turned off by this. That basically said to me: “Here is who I am and here is my business card. Got any business for me?” No, actually I don’t.

--

--