Details on the cancellation of 9/15 speaking session

NANJCOIN
NANJCOIN-english
Published in
5 min readOct 9, 2018

Hello everyone, Daisuke aka Yabo-san here.

Today I had something really disappointing happen to me so I thought I’d blog about it now that I’ve calmed down.

Here’s the breakdown:

9/15 speaking session is cancelled

  • 9/15 speaking session is cancelled
  • The buddying up of overly self-conscious types is ruining Japanese crypto
  • We’re going to hold an event on 9/15 and stream it on Discord

And now for the details.

Why I cancelled

This morning I received a message from Mr. Numazaki of Coin Jinja.
I don’t want any of the contents of our exchange to be misconstrued so I’m going to post the full messages as they were sent.
I made sure to ask permission to post screenshots of these messages in order to explain the situation to holders as best as is possible.
*The message in blue is the one that I sent. The blacked out portion of the message is the name of a Japanese organization.

*translationーーー

Mr. Hirota,

Thank you for everything.

About the speaking session, would a lightning talk where you can speak solo for about 10 minutes be ok with you instead of a panel?

Several of the other speakers are saying that they want to avoid coins that have had 1 sat listings. Aside from yours, it would probably be a bit difficult for us to invite other 1 sat projects to speak. While I can see some of their points, they may be simply be going by the image these things seem to have. I’m deeply sorry that I have to make these changes, especially since I am the one who came to you with the offer to speak. (We will act as sponsor, but no fee will be required)

Once again I am very sorry, but I would appreciate it if you would consider speaking at the event.

I look forward to working with you.

— -end

*translationーーー

Thank you for everything.

I read over everything and to be frank, I was upset and angry.

If the way we listed is a problem, ICOs are also in a grey area domestically. We weren’t exactly a 1 sat listing, but an IEO, a type of listing that is evergrowing in popularity. Using this type of listing has given us no problems in our conversations with xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

I was under the impression that those participating in this event were on the cutting edge, however I was disappointed to learn that there were many people with a group mentality trying to draw a clear line between themselves, the so-called “high society”, and all the other assorted projects. I also took this to mean that your organization agrees with such a thing.

With the clear demotion coming from this sudden change, I would see it unbecoming of me to crawl up to the podium and speak my piece in this environment. As such, I ask that you remove me from the list of speakers at this event.

The biggest problem in Japanese crypto is the kind of line that is drawn in situations such as this. It is very unfortunate.

As an apology to the holders I would like to make our exchange public.

— -end

*translationーーー

I understand your anger.

Your project has always been the one I introduced to people when they asked “Show me the best project in Japan”, and personally that feeling has not changed.

Whether it be a 1 sat listing or an ICO, what really matters is the project. I may have been lacking in understanding or not persuasive enough to properly explain your project, which why the majority vote ended up ruling the way it did.

I accept your cancellation. I apologize for any trouble I may have caused your organization or holders.

— -end

You can see everything I want to say on the subject in the comment I made in blue.
I’m upset about the cancellation if only because this event is going to get a lot of attention within Japanese crypto.
That’s all of my thoughts on this subject.

Overly self-conscious types

Without saying any specific names, I will say that the first person I met in Japanese crypto gave an air of “We’re different from you”. That person was on the list of people attending this event.
This time the “you’re different. you’re wrong.” line was drawn at being a 1 sat listing?

ICOs are ok but IEOs aren’t???
And this is the verdict of supposed experts.

It upsets me to see an environment where so-called industry pioneers decide everything with majority votes based on their own biases. An environment of cozy relationships that is hard to break out of.
“A majority vote? Really? “ Is how I felt.

I took this verdict as them playing pretend cryptocurrency leaders.
Participating in an event like that with your hat in your hand has no meaning or benefit for us.
Furthermore, this gathering is not the kind of place we want to be if we want to achieve our goals. Which is why I ultimately decided not to participate.

Looking back I think I may have been drawing a line between us and others due to some biases I may have had.
This was a good opportunity for me to take a second look at myself.
I like to think of this incident as karmic payback.
Let’s do our best to support NANJCOIN, the token with just the right amount of self-awareness.
We don’t have a glorious past to hold up and celebrate, but what is important is the now.

Our own event for holders

I apologize if I let down any holders who were looking forward to this speaking session. Some of you even took time off of work to attend the speaking sessions, so, as I did have things prepared that I’d like to speak about, we’re planning on holding an event in Tokyo at the same time as the previous speaking session was scheduled. Of course we’ll also be streaming the event so that everyone on Discord can follow along.

We’ll update you with more details once we’ve sorted them out.

--

--

NANJCOIN
NANJCOIN-english

“スポーツに関わる全ての人をつなげるドアを創る” 仮想通貨NANJCOINについての情報を発信していきます。 https://nanjcoin.com/ 日本語記事一覧はこちら https://medium.com/nanjcoin/latest