ELON JOBS
Reflex
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2024

--

My wife knows I’m cheating.

Yes. I am. (I’m sorry, but I am.)

The affair started long before we met, going back to my childhood.

I met her through my mom. She was my boss once.

I should have ended things, but I couldn’t help myself. I’ve had so little control over my urges. But now, I want it to be over.

I’ve been cheating on my wife with my WORK.

I can’t get over her seductive curves and the promises of wild success. She’s intoxicating, and even a former mentor said she’s good for me.

I spend so much time coding, writing, making sales calls, producing videos, and podcasting that I sometimes forget to eat.

You’re comfortable with the relationship. You’re even proud that I’m entangled with her.

But I’m tired of being unfaithful. I want to be a better man, a great husband, and an awesome father.

My commitment is to you and you only. I promise to spend the rest of my life with you, not just a fraction of it.

I want us to surf the fine beaches of Miami and sing to ukuleles in Hawaii.

I want us to ride horses in England and climb mountains in Japan.

And when we start raising kids, I want to be there at every game, every play.

I don’t want to be the absent dad, always out chasing the bag, neglecting what matters most.

No! I want to be the head of our family, and I can’t be that if I’m distant.

I want to savor every moment with you.

I can’t be a great husband if I spend more time with work than I do with you in a month.

This mistress called work drains me so much that I have nothing left to give you and the kids.

I can’t continue this affair. It ends now.

Here’s my resolution so you know I mean it this time:

I’ll stop working and start creating.

I’ll use any time not spent with you to learn valuable skills that free me from working all day just to earn a living.

I’ll create great products that the market demands.

I’ll master the language of investing so I never have to scramble for money.

I’ll focus on building sales systems and automating marketing, so I don’t have to beg for work.

I’ll power my business with Kitcart, so I don’t have to take orders in DMs or track inventory with pen and paper.

I want to master the language of scale so my business can run without me.

I want to avoid unnecessary work so I can focus my time and attention on you and our children.

I hope you’ll forgive me for my unfaithfulness and join me in this journey to create a life of freedom for us and the kids.

--

--

ELON JOBS
Reflex
Editor for

My tongues are tied with lies, so I punch these keys to bleed the truth. Sharing my cold hard truth as a global serial entrepreneur.