CC0 Public Domain

Beloved novelists, how’s your writing?

Julie Russell
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
2 min readNov 10, 2016

--

If I was true to form I’d throw in a space metaphor. Who knows? There’s still space on the page. (Full disclosure, I wrote this post in 2016.)

Wrimos, we’re a third of the way through November.

Be honest, did you sigh at that? Did you cringe?

Please don’t.

Do you have more words written than you did on November 1?

Is it a fabulous, yet possibly shitty first draft?

I’m betting the answers are yes, and I toast you with my cup of strong French roast.

No matter how you feel about your writing or about recent election events, now is not the time to give up.

Keep writing!

This year I’ve given myself permission to write even more shittily than previous years. There’s a red wavy underline under shittily that is driving my inner editor (IE) crazy.

But I don’t care about my IE in November. I’ve locked him/her/them in a box for the month.

I’m not angling to please my IE this month; I’m here to listen to the whispers of my inner muse (IM) who delights in red wavy underlines. My inner muse holds the candle at the end of the tunnel; she dresses in light and hope and ideas.

The past few days I’ve been consistently behind by 300 words. This also is driving my IE crazy, while pleasing my IM, who loves the rebellion of being just a tad bit behind, like in second place, or a B+. Because sometimes being an A student is too much pressure.

So … how’s your writing going?

Whether your novel writing mission is on course towards its destination, or your compass broke and you’re drifting somewhere near Mars, we’re here for you. Let us know before you cry a feeble “Mayday!” and abort your writing mission.

Shawn and I would love to help you reach your goal.

How are you doing? Share your word count or your writing mood! And definitely respond if you’re about to abandon ship!

❤ Your story matters.❤

--

--

Julie Russell
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

Member of Alabama Street Writing Group | Previous Eng Manager at Medium | Past Board Member of NaNoWriMo nonprofit | Opinions are all & always mine.