Dragon Tales NaNoWriMo Log:

Danielle Nolan
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
3 min readNov 14, 2017

Week 2 Check in:

www.pixabay.com

Word count so far: 25175

Word count required to stay on target: The magic number is 25000 by the end of today (which means that I am 175 words ahead). I have had a massive week of writing and have managed to stay ahead of the target for most of this week, even after having one day off. This is not like me at all, since my usual trick is pulling off huge numbers in week 3 and 4 to catch up. Let’s see if I can keep up the pace.

NANO theme song: Black Suit: Super Junior. K Pop fans, isn’t Super Junior’s comeback fantastic? Black Suit is upbeat, fun, has that driving ‘let’s get this done’ drum beat and a killer horn section. As a theme song, it is getting me into the ‘you must start writing now’ zone and is working a treat, especially first thing in the morning.

My NaNo theme song. I love the music video as well; it is so slick.

Beverage of choice: Iced yuzu juice (a citrusy Japanese drink that is very refreshing), extra strong cappuccinos.

Current soy melt in my burner: cherry blossom.

You know that you are a serial procrastinator when:
- You spend far too long adding and removing songs from your writing playlist.
- You start caring about how terrible you are as an Overwatch newbie and start youtubing how to master characters on the roster (right now I am focusing on Soldier 76, Ana and Mercy).
-You thoroughly enjoy watching videos of GOT7 (another Kpop group) teaching Korean for beginners when you have no interest in learning the language.
-You enjoy getting the dishes out of the way far too much.

You know you are a pantser when:
-Your main character unexpectedly says something that makes you cry.
-Your favourite dragon from your last episode goes: “Excuse me. Where is my short story? Let’s set it towards the end of the timeline even though you have barely worked out your big bad or most of the concluding details yet. Thanks!”
-A character that you have worked with before is finally gets his origin story written. He opens his mouth and you discover that he speaks with a lisp.

Story progression so far:
Dragonsong: Completed.
Dragonbonds Unite (where Shimmer insisted that he wanted to be the star): Completed.
It’s the darkest hour of the dragon riders. When rescuing their bonds proves to be impossible, how will the dragons who are left behind find the strength to move forward without them?
Dragongirl (Summer’s song): Approximately 1/3 completed.
Summer discovers that family can be scarier than firebreathing dragons. She recalls the time when she and her little brother Jespa save the Serenity hoard. Just as she realises that Jespa isn’t so annoying after all, the two of them are cruelly separated.

Favourite line of dialogue so far:
“Why do you want me to go? Let me help you Thummer. I can cheer you on and go ‘Yay Thummer’ I won’t be bored. I love hearing you sing.” (Jespa’s lisp is adorable. I am starting to care about him a lot which is making the ‘tragic past’ that I need to establish for him really difficult to write.

Immediate goals:
Finish Summer’s Song, Start Scarlet’s story.

Thank you so much for reading. Best wishes to those of you embarking on their NaNo adventures and congratulations on making it to the half way mark. Remember that every word counts.

If you enjoyed this story please show your appreciation with a round of applause.

--

--

Danielle Nolan
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

Fantasy writer, dragon rider, teacher, musical firefly, otaku, dreamer.