How to Write Over 10,000 Words in Three Days

Elly Pursel
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
4 min readNov 3, 2016
Image via : http://www.quickmeme.com/meme/3r4ewa

I wrote a post about my failure with NaNoWriMo and the tips I have for getting off to a good start a few days ago, which you can read here.

However, after experiencing writing my novel the last three days, I’ve realized I missed a key aspect of dedicating a month to write a novel.

And the answer is just that. Dedication.

We may only be three days in, but this is already my most successful NaNoWriMo experience yet.

I have hit the ground running and the end is closer than I ever imagined it would be.

In three days I have miraculously wrote over 10,000 words.

Imagine via : http://rebloggy.com/post/art-motivation-inspiration-writing-writer-nanowrimo-in-honor-of-nanowrimo/65838104109

Don’t get me wrong, after sprinting for two hours in a row this morning, I was most definitely tired. But, that didn’t stop me from picking up my novel an hour later for another two hour sprint.

You see, in order to not to get discouraged with the idea of writing a novel, you have to love your novel.

I love everything about the novel I am currently writing. From the characters to the plot to the little quirks I have developed while writing, I love it all.

I found my voice for this novel and I am running with it.

Writing 10,000 words in three days is difficult, don’t get me wrong. It will also get even harder to keep my pace up as the month moves along. Life will start to get in my way and I will struggle to move the plot of my story along, but right now I’m not thinking about that.

In order to get 10,000 words in three days, you just have to write.

I know that sounds obvious and like reading this article has just been a waste of everyone’s time.

BUT, it is just that.

When you enjoy your novel, it is easy to write. The words come naturally and fast. They take over your mind and your fingers and next thing you know, you have 10,000 words in front of you.

It will be tiring, and you will need numerous cups of coffee to get through it, but it is most definitely doable.

10,000 words.

That is a fifth of your goal done.

You have 27 more days to complete the remaining 40,000. At the rate you are going that should only take you 15 of those days.

It’s daunting, yes. But think about how effortlessly the first 10,000 words came to you. If you can get that far that quickly, maybe there is hope in winning NaNoWriMo this year after all.

I know I am hopeful.

I love my novel and I never want to stop writing it. I am always thinking about what comes next, but I also I get that not everyone is as head over heels with their novel yet.

You’ll get there, though.

Some novels are just a slow burn.

Image via :http://rebloggy.com/post/art-motivation-inspiration-writing-writer-nanowrimo-in-honor-of-nanowrimo/65838104109

Although, if you get a week in and you are still struggling to make your daily word count, you have two options: keep on trucking through or switch it up.

Write about something else. Find a topic you could write about for hours at a time and never get bored of.

If I never stop writing I’ll never loose momentum. I’ll never get in a funk and give up.

When you stop, you fail.

Just. Keep. Writing.

It doesn't matter if what you think everything you wrote is complete crap. Just get it out, because once it is out you can move on.

The novel you set out to write this month is only a draft.

It will in no way be perfect.

So if you write three pages of internal monologue about your character’s love for peanut butter, who cares? Just cause you write it now doesn’t mean you have to keep it in your novel forever.

Maybe by the end you’ll realize that your character actually hates peanut butter, or is even allergic to it. But at that point, who cares? You already have the words in. That’s all you needed.

Look at you — there will be five days left in NaNoWriMo and you have long since past 50,000 words, because you love your novel, flaws and all.

That’s why you kept writing.

That’s how you manage to write 3,000+ words a day instead of the 1,667 bare minimum.

Love your novel.

Write every day.

And there you have it.

A NaNoWriMo win in the bag.

Much Love,

Elly xx

P.S. Add me as a buddy over on my NaNoWriMo page so we can write together!

THANKS FOR READING!

I’m Elly Pursel, university student, writer and filmmaker.

If you liked this article then hit that little heart and leave a comment so more people will find it!

Also, remember to follow to be notified of all my newest articles.

To find more of my work check out my Twitter for all the latest updates!

--

--