My NaNoWriMo Plan

J.R. Delaney
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
2 min readOct 29, 2016

I’ve decided to participate in National Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) for 2016.

I’m currently working on a novel, but I’m pushing that back.

What I’ve decided to do for this project is to publish everything I write each day. This won’t be edited, and the project won’t be polished when I post it.

All I’ll be doing is publishing the more than 1,600 words it will take each day to reach 50,000 words by the end of November.

And as we know, Ernest Hemingway said the first draft of anything is shit.

So that’s my warning.

Each post will look like shit. But the point is to get to the 50,000 words.

The story will be called The Shoes of Baltimore.

I always see shoes, almost on a weekly basic, left on the ground in Baltimore City.

Other people I know who live in the city see abandoned shoes.

I’m assuming this happens in other cities. But it’s crazy to me on a weekly basis there are so many random shoes that have been abandoned by their owners.

Most people I watch just walk past them. Maybe

But these shoes FASCINATE me.

What situation does a person find themselves in that they just take off their shoes and leave them?

Or just one shoe…

I can’t tell you how they ended up in the middle of roads, sitting on top of fences, or getting shoved into gates.

I wasn’t there. I don’t know.

But I know they deserve a story. Is the real story as outlandish as I’ll make it? Probably not.

The story, though, may not be outlandish enough.

Hopefully, I’ll do those shoes justice.

Thanks for checking this out, and make sure to check back on Nov. 1 when I post the first piece for NaNoWriMo.

Best of luck to everyone who is trying to reach 50,000 words by the end of November!

--

--

J.R. Delaney
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

Writer, but I hope to amass most of my fortune through bridge building and boiling denim. My ebooks smell of rich leather.