--

My Top 10 Novel Writing Excuses (of the day)

NaNoWriMo tip via https://twitter.com/amadvox

10. With my extra hour from Daylight Saving Time ending I could take an hour nap and still have plenty of time to write. [knowing full well I’ve never in the history of naps slept for just an hour]

9. Time to clean ALL THE THINGS.

8. I’ll write best to a playlist, let me browse my fav music store app for just a second.

7. I should make tea… snacks… a meal for later… meal prep for the next week it is! Time for a grocery store run.

6. Speaking of running, I bet the words will come out quickly if I walk a brisk mile or two and then do word sprints the rest of the day. [browses fav music app for workout playlist]

5. I don’t remember the last time I checked my least used social media / bank/ retirement account. Wonder what it looks like now.

4. I should create a role play social media account for my MC!

3. I should also post how busy I am writing (once again) on all my social media accounts… you know, to keep me accountable.

2. I’ll start writing on the hour. [at two minutes past] Gah! I’ll start next hour.

1. I won’t update my word count until I’ve written at least 2,000 words. I will take a moment to peruse all my NaNo buddies’ pages and word counts just to see where they are.

Bonus excuse: I will not check the #NaNoWriMo forum until I hit my daily word count goal [browses Medium for the next hour].

What’s your writing excuse today? Write it down and have a good laugh at it, but then go write.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo too? Add me as a buddy. Follow A Mad Vox (on Twitter) for more novel nuggets and tips and check out A Mad Vox Podcast (coming soon).

--

--

Madeline Wright
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

a digital media (audio) pro w/ lots to learn. just the way i like it. reader. music maker. writer.