NaNo Day 16 — Something weird happened

Mateja Klaric
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
2 min readNov 16, 2017

--

As we stepped into the second half of the month, something changed

For the first time since I’m writing it, I fell in love with my book.

:0 :0 :0

I never expected this to happen! I saw it as a burden. I had to kick myself hard to start working on it at the beginning of the month. And now I cannot stop. I came to love it!

wth?!

Another unexpected thing is that I came to love writing and self-publishing books more than publishing a blog. That’s weird. As weird as it gets. And it makes no sense from economic point of view. None whatsoever.

If anyone, I have no illusions on how much money you can make by self-publishing books. It’s laughable, absolutely laughable. Well, no, it’s SAD. At least it’s sad for most.

Still… I love it. You know like a girl who cannot help loving a poor guy even though he is as poor as a pauper and there so no chance of comfortable living with him. Nevertheless, she loves him and he makes her happy.

There, that’s how doing NaNo feels right now. For the first time, it feels good. It feels real good.

Mateja started to write short stories at the age of ten and later became a freelance writer, radio personality, and explorer of the inner worlds. Her life resembles a roller coaster ride full of ups and downs and some pretty wild turns. Among other things, her car was destroyed by tanks, and she survived several brushes with death. She graduated in psychology from Arizona State University and is deep into the weird. Connect with Mateja on LinkedIn and Patreon.

--

--