NaNoWriMo Day 14

abbi
Friends of National Novel Writing Month
1 min readNov 14, 2016

21,499 words. Today is the 14th day of NaNoWriMo and, as of right now, I’m going strong. I have to write a little bit more today because I took off early yesterday so that I could do some very important research for my story. I’m having a hard time breaking away from research to write because I’m so interested in what I’m reading.

My story takes place in the Mississippi Delta and focuses on Delta blues and the stories surrounding it mixed with some of the urban legends of the South. There is so much to research and so many interesting and heart breaking things to read about that I don’t know how to include everything I want to be in the story. I have several pages worth of notes of interesting tidbits I’ve collected over time. I could probably write more than one story using all of it. This only includes everything I’ve found online and not the books I have on hold at the library. There’s so much to learn!

I have to work on writing this story, however, and in order to do that I have to stop researching and start writing. My plot needs an overhaul and I have to do that while trying to avoid the urge to throw out everything I’ve previously written. I’m fighting my brain and constantly telling myself no, Abbi, you can’t start over on day 14. There is literally no way you would catch up. Shut up and keep writing what you already started! Everything can be fixed during revisions.

--

--