compfight.com

NaNoWriMo: Romance #AuthorProblems

Monica Deck
2 min readNov 7, 2015

--

i.
Husband: “Did you write today?”
Me: “Not yet.”
Husband: “Okay. Well, if you want to do that, I can do my own thing.”
Me: “But what if I don’t?”

ii.
[after writing 1300 words in one scene] OMG SERIOUSLY YOU TWO WHY DON’T YOU JUST KISS ALREADY, I’M DYING OVER HERE

iii.
… oh yeah. I’m the writer. I have to write the kissing.

iv.
Husband: “Were you going to finish writing?”
Me: “I mean. I can.”
Husband: “Okay. I can get the baby to bed if you want to do that.”
Me: “…But what if I don’t?”

v.
[after staring at a blank screen for five minutes] Well I guess I can just clean up this formatting…

vi.
Husband: “What’s wrong?”
Me: “Michael is being a complete douche and I’m kinda pissed at him.”
Husband: “When did you talk to Michael?”
Me: “The CHARACTER Michael not our friend Michael, god.”
Husband: “Oh. Well. How is he being a douche?”
Me: “I DON’T KNOW I HAVEN’T WRITTEN THE SCENE YET.”

vii.
[after re-reading those 1300 words] OMG YOU GUYS FOR REAL JUST GET IT OVER WITH AND KISSSSSSSSS GOD.

viii.
OMG SHOULD THEY KISS OR IS THIS THE POINT WHEN THEY HAVE THE SEX?

ix.
Ahhhhh shit I just wrote a trope, that roommate/boyfriend is totally a trope.

Fuck it. I don’t care. Trope it is. TROPES FOR EVERYBODY.

x.
Okay I am totally ready to write that sex, we’ve had enough character development for one day.

--

--

Monica Deck
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

A chronically ill creature having a narrative experience | MFA candidate | creative nonfiction, narrative medicine, poetry, fiction, and academic research