Why I refer to my SF novel as Science AND Fiction

Inanna trans-human rises out of the ashes of a too-hot, burning planet, while Captain Rachel Chen sets off to establish a new colony on one of the planets of the Alpha Centauri star system

To buy this book please go to:

I’ve always been a fan of science fiction. My favorite writers are Herbert, Asimov, Bradbury and Orwell. I tend to like science fiction writers who explore what happens to human beings within the context of societies like ours which divorce us from our essential humanity. That’s why I like Farenheit 451, 1984 and the End of Eternity.

I think Herbert was quite prescient when he wrote Dune, because he imagined a planet and human beings living there who had to exist without water. In fact he was one of the first authors’ to popularize the importance of preserving our planet’s ecology. In my mind as well, all these authors in one way or another, examine the relationships between religion, politics and power, and also between bureaucracy and government.

Because of my own fascination with these themes, and because I’m also a student of social science by training, I set out to write a quartet of novels which would place a group of humans in a futuristic society that had failed to stop runaway climate change. I was fascinated by Naomi Klein’s book This Changes Everything, and both she and her book served as inspirations to me.

Before reading Naomi Klein however, I had written what is now the fourth book in the quartet, My Quantum Life. This book was based on Michael Talbot’s book The Holographic Universe. I have always been fascinated by the spiritual aspects of quantum physics, and Talbot’s book put the science of it all into perspective. It was very readable for a neophyte like myself, and it clicked.

The first book in my four book series entitled Until This Last, The Burning Years has just been published by Double Dragon Press and explores a lot of hard science around space travel, bionics, and what is causing climate change. Besides Klein, my mentor for this book was Dr. Rachel Armstrong. If you go to my site

https://theburningyears.squarespace.com

you’ll find out all about her. She is a remarkable woman and a brilliant scientist. Dr. Rachel Chen who is the captain of the world ship Persephone is based on how I imagine her to be. In my book Persephone is a human ark, and actually exists, and is being conceived of right now by Rachel and a team of scientists. It’s built around the idea of a renewable chemical technology called protocells. In the future protocells could replace plastics and also animal products and will be essential in the preservation of our planet.

My ark Persephone explores Mars and Europa and then sets sail for Alpha Centauri. The Australian scientist Wallace Thornhill was very helpful to me as I wrote these sections. He introduced me to an electrical universe and warm nuclear fusion technology, and I learned more than I ever thought I was capable on this subject from him. He would send me wonderful emails that took me several days to decode. His final words to me were ‘don’t worry about the science leave that to scientists, use your writing as a springboard for your imagination.”

Besides hard science however, The Burning Years explores lots of ways we could live on a burnt out planet in the future, and it has two re-engineered transhuman beings who do just that. Introducing them as characters allowed me to explore the whole field of Artificial Intelligence and how two super humans, a male and female, might think and act. Again the social scientist at play. How would their biology, psychology and past influence them. How would their male and female genetics and gender-biases, play a part?

The arc of the plot is set against U.S. government of plutocrats that has fled underground, who have saved themselves and a few others, the brightest and the best. Of course there are insurgents, and one of them is a female scientist who is heavily involved in geo-engineering the weather. The book takes place about sixty years in the future, just about the time when we may experience dramatic effects from climate change.

I deliberately did not want to write a dystopian book, but one that was full of hope based on our finer instincts as a species, our desire to return to smaller communities, and our current and future knowledge of technology. I am not good with violence unlike George Martin, who is able very skillfully to explore all those dark sides of humanity, and create fabulous villains. My villains tend to be more grey and struggle internally with a lot of philosophical and moral dilemmas. My women are very strong, just like Martin’s, and my main female character Inanna would definitely be friends with Daeneyrs Targaryen.

Now I just have to figure out how to get people to take climate change seriously. I plan to use the book as a tool to get them involved. The Burning Years has been published by Double Dragon Publishing this month. I chose Deron Douglas as my publisher because he loved the book on the first read, and I just couldn’t take a chance and wait for Tor or Del Ray to give me an answer.

Please check out my site above to buy the book and hopefully review it on Amazon for me, also to see how you can get involved with 350.org or any other organizations which work to stop elements of man-made climate change, so as to keep our planet safe and livable in the future.

--

--

Felicity Harley
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

writer. student of the human condition & psyche. grounded by family, garden and good wine.