Photo Credit: Unsplash

Writing Tendencies — Or Why A “Non-Writer” Participates in NaNoWriMo

I have written 7 novels, but I have never reopened the files.

--

Ok, so that might be a little a bit of an exaggeration, but not by much. See, I participate in an annual month long writing challenge called NaNoWriMO pretty much every year, but I do so more as an exercise than to produce an actual novel.

While I consider myself a writer, I am not a novelist. 90% of what I write is non-fiction, like these articles here on Medium. But during the month of November each year, I get to flex my creative writing muscles.

I love the challenge. I love that feeling on November 30th around midnight in my time zone when I submit my novel for verification and get the WINNER! notification.

I also love being able to go through the process of plot development, world design, character building, and all the other parts that go into what makes a story. Due to my schedule, I usually go into the challenge as a pantser with a rough idea of a plot and some notes. At the end of November, I have a rambling, barely readable, pile of crap that I can call the first draft of a novel.

Then I move the file to my Archived NaNoWriMo Novels folder and never look back. There was one story that I attempted to edit so my friends could read at least one part, but all I managed to accomplish was deleting a bunch of words and editing about three sentences.

For me, the fun is in the challenge. It’s the journey. If I never open one of those files or read any of the over 350,000 words that I have written, it wouldn’t surprise me.

Maybe someday I will write something that I really fall in love with and keep going back to work on, but until that happens, I’m going to keep writing and participating in NaNoWriMo my own way.

--

--

Kayleigh Mihalko
Friends of National Novel Writing Month

I write about #lifelessons and #NaNoWriMo (writing), with a little work/entrepreneurship sprinkled in for good measure.